We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of James Bay Tea Room and Restaurant

James Bay Tea Room and Restaurant
332 Menzies Street (Superior), Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2G9, Canada (James Bay)
+1 250-382-8282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #351 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: English, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: James Bay
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Whilst visiting Victoria for a few days, we came upon this very pleasant restaurant just up from the inner harbour. We had lunch which was extremely good. Food was hot, tasty and service was excellent. Staff were very attentive and pleasant. Descent price as well. I was told that the restaurant will shortly be redecorated as new owners had recently taken over. We will definitely go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    26
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice Change of Pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We found this restaurant when we were just walking around the downtown Victoria area. It is in the nice area of James Bay and seemed to be a favorite place for locals. Inside, it is a cafe with lots of British memorabilia on the walls that makes it fun to look around. We went for breakfast and really enjoyed the homemade scones for that day: fresh and great flavor. The pancakes with OK and my eggs were quite good. The coffee was standard but they had good choices for tea, not surprising. We really liked the service and the people who served us: very personable, good conversations, and just nice folks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place for tea and crumpets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

For good (actually very good) British tea and crumpets, this is the place. The tea is always just right and the crumpets are freshly made. This is a MUCH less expensive experience than the Empress. It is not a fancy place, but it is clean and welcoming. This restaurant is located just behind the parliament buildings on the far side from the harbour. Just go down Menzies heading away from the harbour and you will find it in about 5-10 minutes on the right hand side of the street, depending on your walking speed. Victoria is a place for walking and biking but if you must drive, there is a parking lot right across the street.
As for regular food, I have not been impressed. This is a tea house - that's the key point!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely British tea experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Large pots of many varieties of tea, sandwiches, scones, and pastries. Decent prices and good service. A great place to meet your lady friends, or take your mother out for a cuppa.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK Eatery for Breakfast and Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The decor is twee - loads of British memorabilia, but the rest of the restaurant experience does not live up to the initial impression. We went for a late breakfast / brunch. Food was pretty much the same as any diner but prices were quite reasonable. I think the restaurant would be more of a go-to place for an afternoon tea and cakes than a breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Bay Tea Room and Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to James Bay Tea Room and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Bay Tea Room and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.