We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately Best Sushi in Victoria among the top in Vancouver when considering price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ebizo Japanese Restaurant

Ebizo Japanese Restaurant
604 Broughton St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
(250) 383-3234
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,086 restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Definately Best Sushi in Victoria among the top in Vancouver when considering price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been to all restaurants in Victoria and it is difficult to find good cuisine. I also find tripadvisor rating system not the most reliable simply because when consumers eat cheap food that is adequate they rate the restaurant high. For me the quality of food comes first, then the price follows, not the other way around. Cook at home if you want cheap.

In any case, the sushi was delicious, the spicy tuna with avacado, the Ikura, the salmon tuna sashimi, and oooohhh the TUNA TATAKI.
It is simply the freshest fish in the city, but they NEED A WEBPAGE so we can order take out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    37
    21
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was in Victoria for the weekend with my boyfriend and we asked the staff at our hotel for some sushi recommendations. The woman at the front desk recommended Ebizo as one of her favorites, and we were really impressed! The Sushi was VERY fresh and service was quick. It's such a small, funky restaurant too, which makes it especially fun! Their prices are also quite reasonable compared to other high-end sushi spots. We will definitely go there again then next time we are in Victoria!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food, perfunctory service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have been to this restaurant many times. The food is consistently excellent but the service, while reasonably efficient, is always cold and distant, bordering on mildly hostile. But the food is good enough to keep going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Possibly the best sushi in Victoria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I recently ate at Ebizo on a busy Friday night and agree that it may be the best sushi place in Victoria. Their sushi tastes great and is extremely fresh. While their sushi menu is limited compared to bigger restaurants, each roll tastes completely different as opposed to some sushi places where it all tastes the same. The service there is great and the price can't be beat.
Our dinner with appy's, drinks and LOTS of sushi was just over $100.
I have also gone there for lunch which can be between $10-$20.
The restaurant is small so I strongly recommend making reservations.
The only down side to this place is that they have a limited Sake menu - no biggie.
FYI - My favorite roll there is the spicy salmon and avocado.
This place is worth trying if you have never been there so you can see for yourself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I am a traveler from the National Capital and each and every time i get the chance to go in Victoria, the Ebizo is a most. This is by far the best sushi i had across Canada and the service is so familiar that you gain of being a regular with the chef and Lily. They have amazing stuff outside the regular menu and fresh arrival days are also the best choices. Hands down best sushi in the country.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebizo Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ebizo Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ebizo Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.