We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happyhour awesome location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe Brewpub, Marina & Restaurant

Canoe Brewpub, Marina & Restaurant
450 Swift St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1S3, Canada (Downtown)
250-361-1940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Canoe Brewpub, Marina & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 966 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
San Diego, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Happyhour awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Spent a day in Victoria and hit many brewpubs for a beer, atmosphere and food. Canoe was by far the best of the bunch. It's a little off the touristy track but a mere 10 minute walk from the harbor and BC museum...and there are a couple pubs along the way. Yes it along side and back of an older building but wow the inside has tons of ambiance...and on a warm sunny day like our visit in September the patio is the place to be! The service was fast and friendly, the beer and drinks cold...the food was delicious. Seems like a great young professional locals vibe takes over in the evening! Definitely worth the time to discover and walk a few extra blocks....and on our way back to the main streets we discovered Victorias delightful Chinatown area to boot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    124
    47
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best outdoor patio in the city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Also the best calamari in town, great beer, cool old building if you eat inside, live entertainment, great staff, etc., etc. stick to the specials and it's quite reasonable as well...one of the BEST places to meet with a group!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Dinner in Victoria. What's a Red Beer look like?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our group chose this restaurant for our out of town Turkeyday get together. It was a set Turkey meal so we did not sample their regular fare.
It was a slick of tender turkey breast, stuffing, lots of mashed potatoes and a decorative 'display' of a couple of vegetables. (1 parsnip piece and one broccoli piece).
I hope their regular far is better.

The disappointing part was in being a brew pub I chose to try their Red Beer. When a honey amber coloured glass of beer arrived, I commented I'd asked for their red beer.
They said this was it and red was just the name they gave it.
OK then, give it a try anyways. Not much for flavours, not much different than any large brand beer like Heineken, etc.
Hopefully their other beers were better and more than 'just a name'.

To their credit, the server was good and did some extras to accomodate our large group to salvage the evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Seemless service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I wish I could comment on the service but they took our drink order and then the drinks were there. I do not recall ordering the entree, but I do recall enjoying my dinner. I noticed at one point that my wife and guest were enjoying a desert that seemed to just appear. The beers were excellent and the food super. When we arrived they indicated that it would be a short wait for a table and suggested a seat in the lounge. We were moved to the dining room before our drinks arrived.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to eat on a beautiful day, and other days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Yesterday, we sat on the large and lovely patio for lunch at the Canoe Brewpub, in Victoria.
The Patio setting on the Gorge Waterway is lovely, right downtown. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. They served us the best Fried Calamari with Jalapenos, that I have ever had. I highly recommend them! We also had chicken wings which were crispy and delicious as well as an order of olives which were served heated. What a perfect lunch, in a lovely setting on a beautiful day.
However, the building is also most interesting as well, so if the weather is not inviting you to the patio, be sure to enjoy your meal inside. You won't be sorry!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Brewpub, Marina & Restaurant also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Canoe Brewpub, Marina & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe Brewpub, Marina & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.