We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Italian Bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Brio

Cafe Brio
944 Fort St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (Harris Green)
250-383-0009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Harris Green
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A Charming Italian Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Cafe Brio is a small, family run Italian restaurant where the owner has great stories, the atmosphere is fun and lively and the food is freshly prepared and quite good. There are many wonderful dishes to choose from and if one wants to taste a variety, half orders are also available.
Leave room for dessert. We ate a halibut dish and a salmon- both delicious and shared desserts- a chocolate treat and a rhubarb special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    103
    39
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

From the engaging host to the diligent water filler, this property is first rate. Great ambiance, wonderful menu (complete with 1/2 portions) spot on service. The only problem is that tripadvisor's interactive map had the property mis-located causing our party to arrive late but no problem in terms of the service, we still had a choice of tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great fresh cusine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Cafe Brio never disappoints. We have been there many times over the years.I really like the ever changing menu with fresh, local choices (as much as possible). I also like the possibility of half portions so I can sample more courses.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Still a good place..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had an anniversary dinner here 4 years ago and it was great. We were not disappointed this last visit. Food is great but the service is a little spacey!! Our son called a few minutes before we arrived to agree to cover our dinner but somehow that didn't get through the fog. Had the tasting menu which with a good wine was $$$$ but it is still a great little place in Victoria,.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurateur2, Owner at Cafe Brio, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I have checked with the staff person who took the call from the son and we were asked to charge a bottle of bubbly to his credit card, not a full dinner. Very sorry if there was some confusion but we were just following the request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Cozy, Friendley,Good Variety, Well Prepared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very much enjoyed our evening at Cafe Brio. Friendly staff, cozy environment and we really liked the half portions which allowed us to sample some excellent dishes. We will be back again to sample several other dishes we had no more room to try. Good value!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Brio also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Cafe Brio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Brio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.