We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waay too pricey for what you get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar

Keg Steakhouse & Bar
3940 Quadra St, Victoria, British Columbia V8X 1J6, Canada
(250) 479-1651
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Keg Steakhouse & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #151 of 966 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Reynolds
Description: The Keg Steakhouse & Bar serves the finest cuts of succulent steak, aged for tenderness and grilled to perfection. Prime rib is a Keg specialty, slow roasted, hand carved and perfectly seasoned with special Keg spices. The restaurant also serves delicious seafood, memorable appetizers, crisp salads… and decadent desserts. A casual ambiance and friendly, very knowledgeable staff are proud and reliable trademarks of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. You'll find a truly comfortable and satisfying dining atmosphere accompanied by a fun and up-scale bar setting where guests can enjoy an excellent wine list, signature Keg martinis, and fresh squeezed juice cocktails.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Waay too pricey for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I was one of those college students in the '80s who loved to go to the Keg for the amazing salad bar and great steaks. It's not the same anymore. Even with a $50 gift card (the only reason we went) the bill for our family of four was probably a bit more than what we'd pay for a nice meal at somewhere like Milestones. Prices are ridiculous for a rustic restaurant without tablecloths.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria,BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“My first time at the Keg in years”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My friends and I ordered NY Sirloin Steaks.
They were tough tough touch@! (and we will never go back)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“What's happended to the Keg?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This chain used to pride itself on making sure your steak experience was nothing short of great. My wife's Teriyaki Sirloin was overdone and it took almost 15 minutes to get another served. In the meantime I finished my meal. In the past her meal would have been comped and a manager would visit to apologize. Our server basically said, "oops sorry" and that was it.

I realize it may be difficult for the bottom line to constantly comp meals but we weren't offered anything for the trouble. I have eaten at every single Keg in Canada but I doubt I will be returning to this location. The one on Qadra Street, while much older inside, has far better service.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The two best things about this restaurant are good steaks and great service. The Keg has no surprises when it comes to steaks - In my experience, they are always good. The server was very friendly and knew the menu well. If your party is interested in a view and atmosphere, then I would recommend the Keg on the Harbour.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Want a good steak? This is your place. Reservations on weekends a must! The servers know the menu items, so ask what they recommend. You never leave hungry. The servers are upbeat and this is the place to ask for medium-rare.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keg Steakhouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.