We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fish and Chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haultain Fish & Chips

Haultain Fish & Chips
1127 Haultain St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
(250) 383-8332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 1,107 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British
Restaurant details
Calgary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

What a great place! Very old school, the place is around 80 years old. Boy do they do fish and chips right. I had the two piece cod and my wife had the two piece Halibut. They hand cut there fish and cut there own fries. We started with the Calamari and it was on of the best I have had in a long time. Tina our server was very helpful and fun.

Mary the owner is in her 80's and is a blast. She takes such pride in her restaurant and the quality of the food they serve. Only eight table so go early. We were there at about 2 so it was easy to get a table.The fish is so light and fresh, the coleslaw is very nice and home made. The fries are home made, ask for them over done makes a big difference.

Wont hesitate to go back if you love fish and chips this is the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best British style in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We love Haultain... you feel like you're part of the family here! If you crave fish and chips like you had in England, coming here is worth leaving the beaten path. It is a small shop (can get very hot - I don't know how they work there!), but very efficient and you generally don't have to wait long (but beware, this is a much loved place!). Their simple batter is not too thick, not too thin, and the chips are chips. Nice slaw, albeit a bit mayonnaisey at times. And they always carry Hermanns Dark, which goes oh so well with the meal. Not much other than perogies for non-fish, non-deep fry eaters, but they're good too. Great slice of local Victoria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria B.C.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Victoria Landmark!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have been going to Haultain Fish & Chips for over 30 years. This is the only place my out of town relatives ask to go visit after visit, year after year. Thank you Mary for all your years of delivering the best Fish & Chips anywhere! Don't take my word for it, try some today!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A 'hole in the wall' size of restaurant emphasizing quality, simplicity, service and great value. Nothing fancy. Staff couldn't be nicer. Highly recommend this place for a hearty seafood meal whether you eat in or take out.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cowichan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“rude rude and more rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

waitress was rude. menue says comes with fried and coleslaw and she said fries or coleslaw. I said it says here both and she got snotty. Seems like owner and daughter run front end.......daughter needed to tell everyone about her car accident while customers stand waiting. She was rude to a senior who was slow to do a debit. Table behind us asked for ketchup so many times with no one listening that we gave them ours. I asked for a takeout container so many times that I felt like leaving the leftovers. Fish was almost burnt and soggy fries. I make better fish and chips at home!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haultain Fish & Chips also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Haultain Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haultain Fish & Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.