We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Denny's Experience Ever!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Denny's

Denny's
3100 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (Burnside)
(250) 382-3844
Improve this listing
Ranked #545 of 967 Restaurants in Victoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Burnside
Whistler, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Worst Denny's Experience Ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Service was a joke, asked for milk for my tea - got 18% cream - no cutlery so had to stir my tea with a straw!! Sat for approx 30mins before watching our food move to the "pass" - we sat another 10mins watching our food become colder and colder - 3 waiters walked past the food on numerous occasions including the waiter serving us who walked past the food 4 times - really Denny's get your act together!!! Food finally arrived at the table and yes it was lukewarm - I did complain and point out the fact that it had been sitting for 10mins - did they care?? The restaurant wasn't busy so who knows what would happen on a busy day - do yourself a favour - drive by!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    21
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value and taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Love the breakfast. Always a family favorite for breakfast when we are travelling. Prices are going up (darn it!) but still relatively good for the family income.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Don't Do It!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Noisy, uncomfortable atmosphere.
Menu so extensive, even a mathematician couldn't figure it out! All three entrees were ice cold and very unappealing. Staff try but what for? Not even if you are starving to death!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food, OK Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First of all, the photos above aren't of the Victoria Deny's.. just wanted to point that out..

I have been to Denny's at this location a few times. Overall my experiences have been quite positive and the food has been good.

Only negative is that service can be very slow and disorganized. It is hit and miss though.

If you are looking for a cheap breakfast with a decent menu, Denny's is a pretty good choice.
It is also conveniently located next to the mall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent waiter, terrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went for lunch today, had the worst caesar salad with chicken and avacado I've ever eaten. Lettuce had a very strange taste, like it had been brewing in some kind of preservative for awhile. Handful of very greasy bacon thrown on top with a very oily dressing. My mother was with me and ordered a mixed greens salad with chicken and sliced apples with cranberries on top. Waiter came back to tell us they had no apples! What nonsense, I told the waiter maybe the chef should drive out to Saanich to pick some up. Felt sorry for the waiter because he gave very good service even if the food was terrible. Will never return to this restaurant, manager should be looking at what the chefs are doing and who's ordering the produce for the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Denny's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Denny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denny's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.