We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond FINE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camille's

Camille's
45 Bastion Sq, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1J1, Canada (Downtown)
250-381-3433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Tucson Az
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“beyond FINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a lovely surprise. The food is so very well prepared, nothing over done, not too sauced, just good food in season. The wine list was excellent. The service very good with out stuffiness or too familiar. Just a place that we wish we could go to night after night. My husband, is a meat and
potatoes kind of guy, he loved this place. There was a curry squash tart that incorporated East Indian flavors. Kind of like finding chilies in food in the southwest. An opportunity to celebrate
the richness of the various cultures in the northwest. Almost a reason to come back to Victoria just on it's own.
The Hoopers
Tucson, Az.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    30
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Intimate as advertised, creative tastes and presentations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Camille's is a small treasure. Perhaps too small--the kitchen doesn't have room for an espresso machine. Seating is comfortable and there are sound buffers so that you are not overwhelmed by the ambient noise. Staff is attentive and informed. The dishes are creatively presented and have good blends of taste. One first course in particular was striking--the "heirloom tomato salad." It was presented on a long, skinny plate in three sections. Section 1 had the heirloom tomatoes hidden away in a haystack of arugula. Section 2 connected to section 1 with a tomato sorbet--something I had never had and was delicious, on a bed of cucumber slices. Section 3 used the cucumber as a connection, as a puree over small shrimp. It looked wonderful and tasted the same. One criticism (other than the lack of expresso--which may be fixed soon) is that the street address is deceptive--the entry is a couple of doors down, and at first we believed the restaurant had gone away. But, fortunately, it was there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The finest meal in my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've eaten in many fine restaurants in over 20 countries and this was my finest meal to date. I will return, though I don't live in Canada. The food was excellent-fresh, locally sourced, complex, subtle, flavorful. The cooking at Camille's is several levels above all the others. This is a true foodie's paradise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Greater Expectations?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We like restaurants that emphasize local farm-to-fork cuisine. And that brought us to Camille's. Made reservations, were promptly seated on time. As higher end restaurants go, Camille's is average. Food is good, but not exceptional, wine list is limited (wine cellar space issue?), the waitress friendly, but rather defensive when questioned about the food and wine.
The soups as appetizers were quite good. Main dishes were good, but the portions of protein and vegetables were über small. We split a flan for dessert, which was without any character.

For price and quality, I think there is better. Unlikely we will be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Moldy, Stinky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We consider ourselves foodies, and most importantly, we like our wine with every meal. Well, I do not know how you can have a good dining experience when the place stinks from mold and dampness (the place is in a semi basement). We had a res. for 9:00 PM, and promptly left without a word with the hostess. Instead, we went to Terazzo, which was short of amazing ... good food, fabulous atmo., vibrant crowd.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camille's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Camille's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camille's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.