We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greater Expectations?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camille's

Camille's
45 Bastion Sq, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1J1, Canada (Downtown)
250-381-3433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 1,107 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Greater Expectations?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We like restaurants that emphasize local farm-to-fork cuisine. And that brought us to Camille's. Made reservations, were promptly seated on time. As higher end restaurants go, Camille's is average. Food is good, but not exceptional, wine list is limited (wine cellar space issue?), the waitress friendly, but rather defensive when questioned about the food and wine.
The soups as appetizers were quite good. Main dishes were good, but the portions of protein and vegetables were über small. We split a flan for dessert, which was without any character.

For price and quality, I think there is better. Unlikely we will be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    30
    18
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Moldy, Stinky”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We consider ourselves foodies, and most importantly, we like our wine with every meal. Well, I do not know how you can have a good dining experience when the place stinks from mold and dampness (the place is in a semi basement). We had a res. for 9:00 PM, and promptly left without a word with the hostess. Instead, we went to Terazzo, which was short of amazing ... good food, fabulous atmo., vibrant crowd.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are looking for fine dining in Victoria this is the place. The atmosphere is intimate and the food has always been excellent with an emphasis on local/seasonal flavors. I've found the service to be excellent with the staff always very knowledgeable about the menu as well as the wine list. A truly professionally run restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great locaiton, exceptional service AND food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our server, Tracy, was warm, down-to-earth and 'real', yet professional and attentive to our needs (why does that seem like an unlikely combination, I wonder?). She certainly enhanced an already superior experience for us. The menu was truly creative in terms of non-traditional and wildly eclectic flavour combinations, it tasted fresh and was served in good time. The decor was warm and cozy, more apprpriate for fall/winter/early-spring dining than the heart of summer, but we appreciated it all the same. We started with the smoked duck and seafood salad, followed by the goose plate and beef, ending with the orange cheesecake and aromatic fresh-brewed coffee (no espresso machine!) with unique little biscotti, liberally flavoured with fennel. Along with a 1/2 litre of wine, taxes and a 20+% tip, our bill came ot $200 - not cheap, but worth every penny!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I picked this spot based on the "top ratings" advertised on multiple sites. As it turns out, it was a very poor experience. We waited in the hostess area for at least 5-10 minutes before anyone bothered to notice we were waiting. After we ordered or dinner, it was an hour later before we finally asked about how much longer it would be for our food to arrive. She said the chef was plating our dinners up at that moment. Ten minutes later, we asked for our bill to pay for what we had eaten. Instead, the server came back with our food and said she wasn't sure what happened, but thought that the chef put our entrees were put behind someone else's. Not being hungry by that point, we tried the entrees and thought the food was average and not worth the prices. The only thing that made it okay was that they comped our meal. I wouldn't have been as annoyed had the server actually paid attention and been proactive about stopping by our table and apologizing for the delay. It was almost like she knew there was a problem and stayed out of sight.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camille's also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Camille's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camille's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.