We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
12 Erie Street | Fisherman's Wharf, Pier #2, Victoria, British Columbia V9B 6K5, Canada
+1 250-384-8008
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$68*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it, we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria's on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renown marine environment we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just, "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales,orca, (Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as: Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whale. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Every care made to ensure your comfort during the trip and very knowledgable and pleasant tour guides.They were so detrrmined to ensure whale sightings They were prepared to stay out up to 5 hours. There detrmination was rewarded by breathtaking sightings of orcas just 50 yards from the boat.Highly rrcommended!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
What a day you had and thank you for your kind comments and your review. Its because of our valued guests that post a review that we stay #1 in whale watching in Victoria. Expectations are always high with our passengers when we start and we will stay out longer that most companies if it means finding the whales. That what you come here for and that is what we are best at. Some days it just isn't possible as they are wide animals but we always try harder than most and offer the best whale guarantee in the business. We love our whales we love those that select Eagle Wing and we do everything in our power to meet and exceed expectations. Thanks again and we hope to have you join us again at some point down the road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    56
    12
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCE !!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was, by far, the HIGHLIGHT of our trip! Thanks to our wonderful guide Jeff. We spotted a pod of transient killer whales about 75 miles north near Nanaimo and watched them for about an hour. Our experience with Eagle Wing Tours was most definitely positive. The crew members are knowledgeable, friendly, and fun. They supply everything one would need ( jackets, leggings, hats, sunglasses) and the whole trip was an amazing experience.

Without a doubt, we would recommend Eagle Wing Tours.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Incredible are the very flattering reviews we constantly get from folks like yourself - THANK YOU. Our job is to do everything we can to ensure not only your safety but also that your expectations are met. By all accounts Jeff exceeded yours on that day - WOW what a tour. At Eagle Wing we strive to be the best and a big Thank You again for helping us maintain our #1 ranking with Trip Advisor. We know you had a choice and so glad you selected Eagle Wing for your whale watching experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We took the 2:30 trip (left at 3) and we saw a pod of 7 orca ("killer") whales, 2 mommies and 5 young'uns. They caught a seal and became very active. Up close in a small boat we witnessed several of them breaching, one or two spyhops (when they go straight up out of the water and straight back down). The eagle ray crew were tremendous. I can't imagine better. Friendly, Knowledgeable. Interested in answering all our questions. Committee to making sure we saw whales. Their boat is one of the fastest...can get you far out there when you have to go far to see whales. We went almost 100 miles round trip (4 hour tour). But spent a good hour with the whales. Only 20 people on the boat. Seats had nice soft cushions and yes boat had a bathroom! Do bring your own food and water. No guarantee you'll always see whales being as active as these were...but they do guarantee seeing whales or you can get your money back or a voucher for another trip. The boat ride itself is worth the money. To see the off shore islands, the scenery, seals, eagles and any other wildlife they can spot for you.

Eagle Wing costs a bit more, but for us it was worth every penny!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Eagle Wing is so pleased to have had you on board and even happier that we were able to meet your expectations. We do have the fastest and the best captains and crews in Victoria, all professional and all extremely knowledgeable about not only the whales but all the other creatures that inhabit the Salish Sea. Our whale guaranteed, which is a certificate for you to join us a again on either the next tour or when ever you are back in Victoria. Visitors come from far away places and we will always go the extra distance to ensure that their expectations are meet and usually exceeded. Thank you again for you review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We saw the whales in action!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were lucky. The previous group looked for orcas for hours and haven't found them. Our skipper, Jeff, warned us about this and offered to take a different route and see some Minke whales. But luckily, his radio came to life - another boat has signalled that they've found the orcas! Jeff took us there at full speed, while Val told us interesting facts about whales - how they are voluntary breathers and never really sleep.

When we saw the whales, there were 7 of them and they were hunting. Val told us it's extremely rare to see transient whales in action, usually they're just travelling. But here they were hunting a seal and they got it! That was a formidable sight. Val took a stunning photo of the seal looking back at the orca pursuing it. I asked for a copy, and Val graciously sent me the photo later.

The trip certainly exceeded my expectations!

Also, Eagle Wing representatives kindly picked us up from the hotel and dropped us back after the tour.

Thank you Val and Jeff!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Your afternoon with Jeff and Val was extra special and we thank you for travelling with us. Whales can be elusive and our captains and crew are the best in the industry at their jobs. We will always do whatever we can to meet your expectations and we sure did that day. Not only do our guests have expectations but so do we all and our happiest days are the days we can make guest happy. Thanks again and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“we saw orcas. eagle and seals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

what a fantastic morning. we where kitted out in all the gear ( to keep warm not dry) and off we went. the tour is longer and can also go an extra distance in search. better to see whales in Canadian side as you can get closer. great trip great people professional.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Just as you love your waters off Australia and its sea life, so do we and we thank you for making time on your vacation to join us to search out our whales. The marine life in Salish Sea is special to us and by having guests who appreciate what we do and why we do what we do makes feel good day in day out. Thanks again, we know you had a choice and so pleased you choses Eagle Wing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.