We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
12 Erie Street | Fisherman's Wharf, Pier #2, Victoria, British Columbia V9B 6K5, Canada
+1 250-384-8008
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$69*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it, we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria's on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renown marine environment we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just, "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales,orca, (Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as: Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whale. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
Ontario
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My son and I were in Victoria for part of our March Break. We had hoped that a vessel would be available for a nature tour. I am so glad we called Eagle Wing Tours! From speaking with a gentleman in the morning on the phone to find out about the possibility of going out on the water that day, to having him call me back right on time, to the pick-up at our hotel, to the tour itself, Eagle Wing was top-notch!

Luckily, the waters were calm and there were enough people to go out for a trip. We were picked up and driven to the wharf, suited up with warm jackets, pants, hats, gloves, sunglasses, and blankets; everything was supplied. We went out in a very powerful speedboat (a scarab?), which was very comfortable and very 'open-air', so that we felt very close to the ocean in the best possible way. The sights and the smells of the harbour were wonderful. And then the boat started to really move! It was exhilarating.

The captain of the boat had been made aware of a killer whale sighting much earlier in the day. Captain Jeff was determined to find the pod of whales for our tour. On our way out to sea, we saw a huge Steller sea lion. It was amazing. I know we were all hoping we would see some killer whales but we knew that during this time of year it was very rare to see them. But Jeff was determined and he never gave up, finally we spotted them off the left side of the boat! A pod of transient killer whales and Jeff could identify them by looking at their markings on the dorsal fins. Again I couldn't believe how lucky we were to see these magnificent creatures in their natural habitat and to see them at this time of year. We switched off the boat for a while and just watched the magnificence of the animals; it was quiet, it was beautiful and it was one of the best experiences I've ever had.

Jeff and the other biologist on board seemed just as excited as we were even though they have seen the whales many many times before. Their enthusiasm was still evident and Jeff gave us a large amount of information about the biology of whales and told us so much about them, which was fantastic. He could answer any question. There were seven whales in the pod we watched. Wonderful!

It was also nice, on the way back to stop at an island to see the Steller sea lions and the harbor seals and bald eagles. As an added bonus on our way back into harbour, Jeff spotted a sea otter which he said was extremely rare to see in the wild. We kept getting very lucky that day!

I would highly recommend this tour through Eagle Wing to anyone. The staff was incredible, the boat ride was great, it was comfortable and they were all prepared. We were well over three hours in the ocean and on the ocean and it was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Thanks to the staff at Eagle Wing and to Mother Nature for making our trip such a blast!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
WOW - You did have a frantastic day considering the time of the year. Getting a chance to see whales, sea lions and an otter are an amazing day on the water. Jeff is one of the best and at Eagle Wing going that extra mile to give our valued guests the experience they were seeking is the most important part of our job both on the water and on land. I am sure that the educational part of your day will last a life time and that is what we are looking for. Making everyones expectations the best they can be. Thank you for letting Eagle Wing Tours be your guide and we hope to see you both again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    56
    12
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Trip, Whales or Not!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We took our trip on March 27 at 2 PM. My wife and I had been looking forward to our whale watching trip since we booked it weeks ago. We knew also that this was not prime season for viewing whales but we were hopeful. Although we didn't see any whales our guide Chris made the trip fun with the high speed and his knowledge.

To top the whole trip off, when we returned to port my wife and I were pretty much frozen from the wind during the trip. We were dreading having to take a water taxi or walking back to our hotel. Chris notice this and was kind enough to offer us a ride back to our hotel!

Great service top to bottom and the experience is made fun whether you see whales or not!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and yes, Chris is an excellent captain and he as will all our employees do what they can to make everyones visit to Victoria memorable. As you stated, the off season is a bit tricky when it comes to finding Orcas but by the sounds of things it was a fun tour even thouigh it was cold. At Eagle Wing we do supply warm jackets, pants, gloves and a toque (knit hat to our American friends) but still the air is chilly and with our fast open boats we get around quickly and make it a refreshing tour to say the least. Thank you again for choosing Eagle Wing and we hope to have you back again one day (when it's warmer) and we will find the whales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We had fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

No whales,but Jeff was very honest and straightforward about this season. We had fun, we saw many bald eagles, deer, sea lions, seals, islands, harbor seals. And the boat ride was so nice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We thank you for choosing Eagle Wing while you were in Victoria and Yes, there are ocassions in the off season that Orcas are hard to find. Jeff is our most experienced captain and he and all our employees always inform our guests that at this time of the year it is a Marine Wildlife tour with the possibility of finding orcas. It sounds like you had a good time and we hope we met your expectations and you got the opportunity to learn more about the majestic Salish Sea. Maybe next time the Orcas will grace your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I chose this activity based on the reviews- they did not disappoint! Professional, prepared, friendly. The speedboats were the way to go, hands down. I was afraid of getting seasick, but i was ok. We chose the smaller boat, and I didn't get sick. Saw the J Pod of orcas, and it was exhilarating. Worth the money, for sure. Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
At Eagle Wing we always aim to please and by your review we did just that. Thank you for your positive response and Yes, when travelling on one of our open boat as you did (Serengeti) motion sickness is usully never a problem and it's a great way to experience the Salish Sea in all its splender. Orcas are what visitors come to see and we so pleased that we met your expectations. We look forward to having you join us again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Respect for the Environment and Excellent Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I took my 18 year old English godson on an Eagle Wing Whale Watching tour last summer. Because of the length of the tour being above average and the distance the speedboats can travel, it was EXCELLENT value for money. Our captain and guide was very informative and interesting and it was a thrilling experience that we will never forget. I did a lot of research into companies around Victoria who offer whale watching and I chose Eagle Wing because of the above and because I truly believe they respect the environment. Thank you Eagle Wing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eaglewingtours, Owner at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Annie G,

I hope that both you & your godson have lasting memories from your experience! Thank you ever so much for providing us with your insight and perspective...we consider praise such as yours as the highest form of compliment, THANK YOU.

We absolutely are truly passionate about sharing with you are friends the whales and other diverse marine inhabitants of the Salish Sea. Going that extra mile or 50 comes naturally to us, and having the boats that we do certainly does assist us greatly in fulfilling peoples dreams of seeing whales.

Going Carbon Neutral in 2009 and becoming members of the 1% for the planet movement is simply an extension of who we are as people. We hope to inspire others to make positive change based upon their experiences with us.

Thank you again Annie for your comments and we very much look forward to having the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Respectfully yours,

Brett Soberg
co-owner/operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.