We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine, old fashioned hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast
715 Suffolk Street, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 3J5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Genuine, old fashioned hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We staryed at the Ocean View B&B in July for 5 nights, at the end of a two week trip to Vancouver Island. Having had plenty of time in the wilderness, it was a nice contrast to end our holiday with a stay in Victoria. We didn't want to stay in a bighotel, and the Ocean View was a lovey compromise between a reasonable price without sacrificing any of the important creature comforts.

The self check in worked very efficiently, and the recommendations and accompanying map for nearby venues for dinner were very much appreciated. After freshening up in our very comfortable room, we followed the clear directions to the Harbour Walk track, and had a very pleasant stroll to Spinnakers (and an equally pleasant stroll back). The room, while small, was extremely comfortable, and more than adequate. The bed was extremely comfortable, and it was nice to have a fridge in the room and facilities to make a cup of tea or coffee in the privacy of our room (not always available in some comparably priced B&Bs)

We were initially a bit surprised about the relatively late start to breakfast, however we adapted pretty well. Most mornings we got up early and went for a walk, returning for coffee at 8.30 and a buffet breakfast commencing at 9.

The choices available for breakfast were not extensive, but certainly covered most of the options. Also, by sticking to doing a few things, our hostess Yvette was able to ensure very high standards. Cereal, yoghurt and an excellent fresh fruit salad were available every day, as well as different daily offerings covering toast, muffins, bagels etc, as well as a cooked option (frittatta, omelette, pancakes, depending on the day). In a relatively small establishment, offering wider choices of cooked breakfasts would have been excessive - it was much better to know that everything was so fresh! There was abundant (and excellent) coffee, as well as a wide range of teas.

Yvette's natural friendliness was very much appreciated, and there was the nice opportunity to chat to other guests if we wanted to, or to sit on our own if we chose to (which we didn't, but some other guests did).

The free internet was an unexpected bonus. Although it was a bit slow (on a somewhat outdated computer), it was free, so this is hardly something to complain about,

We loved the walk along the edge of the bay into the centre of Victoria, and really enjoyed the views of such a busy harbour (cruise ships, water taxis, sea planes, kayakers - all enjoying the harbour - how come they didn't have any collisions!??!!). One morning we were entranced by watching two otters (mother and baby?) swimming, catching fish and climing on rocks to eat them. What a bonus!.

Thanks Yvette for your wonderful hospitality, and accommodating our need for a very late check out - it felt like staying with a good friend or family member, rather than at a commercial establishment!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

So this is a mixed review--some things I really liked and others were a bit irritating! If we had stayed more nights, probably the irritating things would have been remedied, since our hostess seemed very accomodating and eager to please.

Generally, this was one of the better B&Bs I've stayed at...but it didn't justify the price for its location. Location was important to us as day-trippers from the States, with no car. The B&B was further from downtown than the description implied--yes the map was accurate--but distances can be deceiving on maps! It was a good 30-40 min walk to the Empress along the lovely waterfront walk, but fortunately the frequent water taxis saved us!

Self-check-in was handy and easy! Nice selection of books and tourist info in entry way, as well as a pay-phone. Only problem for me is it felt more like a hostel than a B&B, without the personal touch of being greeted.

Nice modern rooms and well appointed. Bed was comfy--everything super clean. A few small oversights--a broken hairdryer and broken handle on cupboard...and fridge wasn't plugged in. I don't generally watch TV, but if I did, the tiny one in the room wouldn't have been sufficient. We didn't check out the hot tub--partly because of the heat, partly because we didn't know the dress code and there were no robes provided (just flip-flops)

The traffic noise from the nearby busy road was only a problem during the day, but the sound of the float planes and our hostess walking around upstairs definitely woke me up at 7am! Generally, it was much quieter than the waterfront hotels where I've stayed before.

Yvette was lovely, though more talkative than I prefer in a hostess--and breakfast was yummy, though less varied than depicted on the website. Was way too warm on the terrace--though the view was gorgeous, we were melting in the unseasonable heat and would have been more comfortable in the dining room. Would have been nice to have the choice to sit with the other guests or by ourselves, since here was plenty of room during our stay.

My biggest challenge was seeing the check-in restrictions ONLY after 3 pm) and rigid breakfast schedule (ONLY at 9 am!) AFTER I had booked the room. I had assumed that like most B&Bs there would be flexibility around both of these. Fine if they are stated up front, and then I may not have chosen to stay here. Yvette actually sounded more flexible in person, but the booing info doesn't reflect this.

I wouldn't stay here again for the price, but it was a great opportunity to see a different part of Victoria and to experience the water taxis! If you have a car and don't mind talkative hosts, it could be perfect!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteinVictoria, Owner at A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
So sorry that these guests had so many complaints ... especially regarding a broken hairdryer .. we are only too happy to have a guest point out any problems so we can address it right away rather than to have to read about it here ... guests often unplug the fridge because they don't like the noise so we're unaware it's not on!

This is a simple, no frills, lower priced accommodation. The rooms are cozy but well appointed with all new furniture, carpets etc. in 2008. Yes the TV is small and we don't provide robes since it' helps keep costs down. Check our prices with any other b & b or Hotel in this area and you'll see for yourself. The accommodations which provide front desk, robes etc are much more expensive than we are.

Breakfast always consists of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereal, coffee or tea and a hot home cooked breakast ... and it's free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

A lovely B & B set in a side street with plenty of parking just far enough away from the main area. We had a good size room with ground floor balconey. 20 - 25 minute walk to the main town along the coast. Fantastic restaurant on the way(10 Mins). Ideally situated to go exploring by car around Vancouver Island. The owner provided a cooked breakfast each morning. This was worth the stay there alone. She was a delightful woman who did her best to make our stay as pleasureable as possible. I would thoroughly recommend this venue to anyone wishing to visit the area

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — walk to town
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

The room was very smelly-it was like some sort of animal had previously lived there. Within 20mins of being in the room, I had to go out and buy an air freshener and keep all windows open in order to tolerate the smell. The bathroom actually smelled of urine and obviously had not been cleaned properly.

The bed was comfy but some of the covers and sheet has bloos stains on them and this was very off putting.

The TV is very tiny and so is the bathroom.

Ivette is a good host but I think that the fact that you have to sit around a table to have breakfast with complete strangers is off putting as you should have the choice if you want to have a more private breakfast.

The B&B is very far from downtown and not 15mins. It was about 10min drive in the car!

I would not stay here again and I think that more effort needs to be made in terms of cleaning. The free computer and Internet use is great.

  • Liked — Internet access
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms/linen
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteinVictoria, Owner at A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
I was really perplexed regarding this review since I pride myself on keep a spotlessly clean accommodation!

I showed my cleaning ladies this write up to see if they could shed some light on this ... well one could only suggest that the smell most likely came from the ocean nearby ... certain times of the year a little bay across the way has a big die off of seaweed and it really stinks up the whole area for a few times ... when the wind blows this our way it's really noticable ... I feel really bad that this guest did not mention anything to me personally... I'm sorry they had the idea they were in a smelly room ....

I'm very aware that you can't please all of the people all of the time ... I've always made a real effort to provide a clean, very comfortable accommodation for my guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Clean,well appointed and a block from the water walk. Excellent breakfasts, views of the water and Cascades. Really felt at home.
Owner a delight. Would do it again.
From New York

  • Liked — Great host and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

A nice B&B with wonderful rooms and a great breakfast.

However, location is not ideal, as it takes a 20 minutes (or more) walk and then a ferry to actually get to downtown, which can be an issue in nasty weather (which was the case during our visit) or if you are tired after a long day. We had a car, but that meant paying quite a bit on parking downtown.

  • Liked — Room and breakfast
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvetteinVictoria, Owner at A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 14, 2009
Regarding location ... sorry that these folks ran into some bad weather which made walking along the ocean less desirable. I understand also that some folks are better walkers than others so a one or two mile walk may be difficult for them ... A Downtown Victoria Ocean View Bed and Breakfast is located one mile from Old Town Victoria .. which is just over the "Blue Bridge" .. Chinatown is to the left and the Parliament Buildings, Royal BC Museum, Empress Hotel are to the right ... so it depends on where you want to go ... and all in all it's about a 3 mile radius to the furthest point. The Victoria Harbour Ferries hop about different spots along the harbour .. it's less than a mile to the harbour stop .. half a mile to the hop on hop off tour bus stop .. as well as restaurants and Victoria's Famous Spinakers Pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

Tasteful is the word for this B&B. Yvette certainly knows how to look after a traveler - as she would since she has worked in the trade for so long.

Rooms have that simple, elegant feel. Everything you need plus those subtle touches. Artworks on the wall that you can actually appreciate.

The location is great. The walk along the foreshore to the CBD is beautiful.

Breakfasts, like everything else in this B&B, are perfect. Tasty, inventive and nutritious. Yvette will casually slip into the table and join you as if she was a long lost friend. She has the knack of joining a conversation without intruding and can give advice without you even knowing it.

A great B&B.

Richard, Hobart, Australia

  • Liked — The host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast

Address: 715 Suffolk Street, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 3J5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Class of an Upscale Hotel" but a private and personal Victoria Bed and Breakfast (Guest review!). Walk Victoria's famous harbor to Downtown! Healthy expanded continental breakfast served in ocean view dining room! Hot tub in garden. Free street parking! Deluxe Garden Patio Rooms have french doors to garden patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Downtown Victoria Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.