We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashcroft House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashcroft House B&B
Save
You added Ashcroft House B&B to your Saves list
670 Battery Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1E5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and i spent 2 nights here in the sun drenched Wedgewood room and it was great. Paulanne and David are a lovely couple who own and run Ashcroft. The breakfast is comprehensive and tasty, and Paulanne seemed happy to accommodate any food allergies/issues etc. The home itself is a heritage building that is large and looked after. It's in a great area, a short walk down to the ocean and the beautiful park that sits on it as well as the main city centre. The room was large with it's own private ensuite & the bed was comfortable. We also saw the Sheldon room which looked opulent and large. There are tea/coffee making facilities on the floor of the rooms and the sitting areas around the house are open to guests and nice and relaxing. we felt at home here with the warmth of David and Paulanne and would certainly recommend this B&B to any travellers hitting Victoria!

Room Tip: The wedgewood or sheldon rooms would be our picks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ashcroft House is a beautiful heritage building in a very quiet area - yet only a stroll away from the Beacon Hill Park, the James Bay, with its fine views, and within easy reach of Downtown Victoria. Paulan and David are delightful, thoughtful, generous hosts. Their home-cooked breakfasts are truly superb - and their home is everything that you could desire or need for comfort. If you are a celiac - do come here! You will be treated to nothing but the best, most delicious fare!

Room Tip: We are biased - we stayed in the 'Wedgewood'room, which is on the corner of the house, and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is hard to beat! A block from Mile-0, the park, and ocean view and located in a quiet residential area. From there you can walk to almost everywhere. The breakfasts were unbelievable. Paulanne will even give you a doggie bag to bring the leftovers with you so you get breakfast and snacks for later on! The room was large and well decorated with modern bathroom in this historic house. We would stay there again. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Dorset, England
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here and thought the accomodation great. We were in the Sheldon room which is a good size and has a huge comfy bed. We slept very well indeed, it is quiet at night. The linens are of good quality and the whole room was furnished beautifully. Every amenity a guest could need is provided, including tea/coffee, water, books, maps. It is spotlessly clean. The house is a beautiful old place, refurbished to a very high standard by Paulanne and David. Paulanne really goes out of her way to make sure you have all the information required, and was most kind in letting me do a load of washing. Breakfasts were delicious, a feast. Paulanne bakes the most heavenly cakes and even gives you a bag to take some away lest you are starving later!!! The only point I would make is that we had to have our breakfast at the same time as the other guests, and it went on a long time, meaning that we were itching to get out and enjoy our time in Victoria. We were very lucky and had fabulous co-guests, but if you didn't get on with them it could be a long time to be sitting down. However, this is a small point. The house is in a great location and we really enjoyed it here.

Room Tip: We loved the Sheldon room with its super king bed and double aspect at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I would recommend the Ashcroft B&B. The Canterbury Room was very comfortable, and hosts Paulanne and David most friendly and gracious hosts. The breakfasts were unbelievable and the gluten-free waffles were a highlight for me. The location close to the water and a few blocks to downtown was very convenient. Would definetely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ashcroft Bed and Breakfast was a perfect choice for our 25th wedding anniversary celebration in Victoria. David and Paulanne were enthusiastic and gracious hosts who went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. The room was amazing, the best we have ever stayed in. The King sized bed was incredibly comfortable. The Orchid suite is huge and my wife took full advantage of the large soaking tub in the generously sized bathroom. The decor was very tasteful and lovely. Extremely clean and well kept, our room was magically tidied for us even when we didn't think it needed it. The location is a brisk 15 minute walk from downtown, but also on some great bus routes and only half a block from the beach. We took several walks downtown and along the beach path to see some beautiful sunsets and wonderful Victorian homes. Huge park across the street and the neighborhood seems very safe and pleasant. It was extremely quiet at night in our room. I cannot recommend Ashcroft House highly enough. It's in a residential neighborhood, not in the center of the nightlife but close enough.

Room Tip: The Orchid Suite is the most expensive, but also the largest and most private with a kitchenette and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay at the Ashcroft B&B was great! I would recommend a nice walk on the boardwalk in the morning before you have your breakfast! You will need a good appetite to finish the delicious brunch that Paulanne and David serve! We spend 3 nights at their place and every morning the breakfast was a nice surprise! The beds were very comfortable and we met nice people!

Calgarians & Montrealers

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashcroft House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft House B&B

Address: 670 Battery Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, please enjoy our 1898 heritage bed and breakfast with all modern amenities! Our fabulous location offers stunning seaside paths, tranquil strolls in Beacon Hill Park and all just a quick 15 minute walk to Victoria's famous Inner Harbour! Awake refreshed and enjoy our healthy, sumptuous, home made 4 course breakfasts. No interrupting your day of exploring for lunch! 4 star Canada Select ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashcroft House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.