We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashcroft House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashcroft House B&B
Save
You added Ashcroft House B&B to your Saves list
670 Battery Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1E5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful and a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and had a great time. It is in a great location...easy walk to Inner Harbour and downtown Victoria but just far enough away for peace and quiet at night. We stayed in the Cotswold Room, which was lovely and nicely appointed. Our breakfasts were plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This B&B does so many things right. The owners were so pleasant and helpful. Although we had been to Victoria a few times before, they gave us useful tips and ideas.

The house is in a darling neighborhood within walking distance to Beacon Hill Park and the downtown area. The walk to the downtown areas passes by many century old homes and is very scenic.

The Ashcroft House actually has a long history of being a B&B and was lovingly renovated to modern standards. Our room, the Orchid, is the biggest and has a huge bathroom and kitchen area. The decorations were tasteful and not overdone. Our children stayed in the Canterbury room with 2 twin beds. They loved not having to share a bed and I like the idea of a B&B having separate beds for situations just such as this.

The common areas are also tastefully done. There is a large living room and then a porch sitting area, as well as a large side yard.

The breakfast is a HIGHLIGHT! Truly, one of the best breakfasts I have eaten in a long time. It comes out in courses and felt so unhurried and just like you are going back in time. Honestly, we all just raved about it.

When we go to Victoria again, (which I hope is sooner rather than later) we will definitely stay here. A+

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

A beautiful heritage inn located on a residential street within easy walking distance of the Dallas Road waterfront and breakwater, Beacon Hill Park, Emily Carr's House and the downtown tourist attractions. Genial hosts are most helpful yet not intrusive. We appreciated the tasteful decor in the comfortable Wedgewood Room and enjoyed its faux fireplace and many windows with distant views of the sea. Our breakfasts were unremarkable and featured the usual B and B fare. But I'm a bit of a foodie (? food snob!) and am hard to impress. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: We liked the Wedgewood room but a resident fan indicated it might be hot in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were on a quick trip to the Island, entertaining visiting relatives from San Francisco, who had never been there before. Our hosts, Paulanne & David, were very welcoming in a genuine and down to earth way - no fuss, no flounce. This appealed to all of us. The place was very charming, spotlessly clean and our room (Wedgewood) had lots of natural light. The beds were super comfortable, very important to those of us with weak backs. The 4-course breakfast was quite the experience - all home made and delicious! AND they catered to our food allergies too. Thank goodness for the awesome location next to a big park and an oceanside promenade because we were able to take a half hour walk prior to eating. All in all a very positive experience and we're happy to recommend it to other couples.

Room Tip: One of the rooms had a very, very high bed with no ladder to mount - a fun experience, but avoid it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

A breakfast to die far !!!!!! Home was just spotless.
We loved our stay so much that in a seven day span we stayed twice and had two excellent breakfasts.
Hosts were unbelievable !!!

You can't go wrong !!!! You will not be disappointed !!!!!!

G. Morin , Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Lovely bed & breakfast. Great location. Elegant furnishings. Comfortable beds. Great hospitality. Budget an hour for breakfast, you'll need it! Quite delicious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

One of the things we read about while researching places in Victoria was the great breakfast at the Ashcroft House...and they didn't disappoint! Breakfast was wonderful each morning, and the doggie bag for scones and muffins was much appreciated, and really all we needed for lunch! Our hosts were awesome. They helped us get the lay of the land and were just fun to talk to! Victoria itself was one of the highlights of our trip, and staying at the Ashcroft House made it even more enjoyable! Don't miss it if you're going to Victoria!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashcroft House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft House B&B

Address: 670 Battery Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, please enjoy our 1898 heritage bed and breakfast with all modern amenities! Our fabulous location offers stunning seaside paths, tranquil strolls in Beacon Hill Park and all just a quick 15 minute walk to Victoria's famous Inner Harbour! Awake refreshed and enjoy our healthy, sumptuous, home made 4 course breakfasts. No interrupting your day of exploring for lunch! 4 star Canada Select ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashcroft House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.