We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you could live here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Oswego Hotel to your Saves list
The Oswego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“you could live here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here in June, and were really impressed with what we got. Essentially a large bedroom with balcony, sofa bed with pull out bed in the living room, kitchen open plan with the living room, nice bathroom - all very spacious. Not just a hotel, more somewhere to live if you needed it! all plush and nice and modern, very clean and nicely done (really nice linen!). Chambermaids come in in the evening to put water with mint by the bed and chocolates on the pillow! Had a view of the back of the Provincial government building and some mountains in the distance. All staff nice and helpful. and it is very close indeed to the harbourside area. What struck me was that there were so many places to sit - a breakfast bar, a dining table for two, sofa, armchairs. Definitely meant for meetings or parties?!

Room Tip: ask for a suite! then move in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

The hotel is now 7 years old and the suites are spacious and functional use of the space is prevalent in the suites throughout the hotel.

This past year we added turndown service for all of our hotel guests and it has been very liked by many of our guests. The little extra touches and service we can give our guests to ensure they have a special stay with us is very important. We are glad you liked this service.

Next time you are in Victoria we very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us at the hotel

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    207
    46
    14
    16
See reviews for
173
409
37
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Love this place! We reserved a One-bedroom suite and stayed in room 110, which has the highest ceilings and a large patio. So great! The staff was very helpful and booked a fantastic whale watching tour for us (we even received a discount for being a hotel guest). The turndown service with the mint water was the best. This stay was a real treat!

Room Tip: Stay in room 110 for higher ceilings and a larger patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and the little extra details we give our guests. We appreciate you!

Come back and visit us again very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed at the Oswego Hotel for two nights during a visit to Victoria (I booked the hotel through the Victoria Clipper ferry service which I think was a good deal). The hotel is modern and luxurious. My room had kitchen facilities included that I did not use; the bathroom had a deep soaking tub and a separate shower. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located on a side street, within easy walking distance (3 short blocks) of the ferry and a short walk to the city center where the main sites are located. I never needed a car or taxi and being a bit away from the night-time bustle made for quiet nights. I highly recommend this hotel; I'd stay here again. Try the Steamship Terminal restaurant for dinner. It is right on the water, in an historic building that was formerly the steamship terminal. (There is also a Starbucks in the building, good for breakfast.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our location as you mentioned is loved by so many of our guests. Being located on the quieter side of the inner harbour yet close to everything is part of the wonderful guest experience.

We are glad you had a good guest experience with us and enjoyed the hotel and our amenities and staff.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were told by Seattle Clipper personnel that we could have a choice of this hotel for our package deal with them. There was a surcharge for choosing this hotel over the others, but we decided, based on the Clipper rep's strong recommendation, that we try it. And are we glad we did! I was shocked at how classy the hotel is in virtually all respects. The staff excelled at customer service and professionalism in every respect. The rooms are not air conditioned, but they said if we opened the windows for a bit at night the room would cool off--it did! The suite we were in was very spacious, and had a huge outdoor patio, which looked over a very quiet street, in a very quiet neighborhood. This is a five star experience all the way, right in the middle of the city center and very quaint, romantic and boutique-like all around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Fantastic news that you enjoyed the hotel, staff and location. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

We hope that next time you find yourselves in Victoria that you come and stay at the Oswego again.

Thanks again for you positive comments which I will pass onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Oswego Hotel for four nights in July and had a most pleasant experience . It's a beautiful hotel,the staff are more then helpful and it's in an excellent location. We would definitely recommend it.It's just a few minutes walk from the Clipper Terminal and a short walk to Fisherman's wharf and downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We value that you were hotel guests and that you stayed with us. We know that there are many choices of hotels to stay at in Victoria - thank you for choosing us.

Our location is liked by so many guests being on the quieter side of the inner harbour but close to everything.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not to distant future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was our second stay at Oswego in a Premium 1-bedroom suite (room 908). We were on the 9th floor which was perfect as it was quiet, and nice and breezy for the hot weather. The room was spotless (as it was the last time we were there) and the hotel staff was friendly, accommodating, polite, and extremely helpful. They are literally the best trained hotel staff I have ever experienced.

The hotel is very quiet, no internal noise at all from elevators/other guests. Outside can be a bit noisy as downtown can be a bit loud but we weren't bothered by it. Lots of little amenities that make such a HUGE difference; like a fresh carafe of mint water delivered to your bedside every night, a top notch restaurant you get a 20% discount at, and Q-tips in the bathrooms (This is HUGE as it is something I have always wanted but never ever seen). The bathroom products are really great quality, and the parking is very reasonable at $15 a night. It is a close walk to all the main attractions including the Parliament building just down the street, the inner harbour, tons of shops and restaurants and a lively night-life scene.

All in all the very best hotel experience I have ever had, and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The upper few floors stay very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Wow, thank you for your wonderful accolade. I will pass on your amazing comments to the team.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the little details we do for our guests. We want you to have a great experience whilst staying with us and we are glad that we didn't disappoint.

Look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just for 1 night and on the whole enjoyed it. The room (309) was a 2 bed roomed suite. Everything we needed was there, except Aircon. This seems to be a Canadian disease! Private secure parking parking is supplied for $15, which is a little steep. Free and efficient wifi was also supplied.
All staff encountered were very charming.

The only real niggle we had was that the bar closes at 10pm to everyone. I have never stayed at such a contemporary hotel where this happens. Still, there are a lot of other bars in the locality.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for staying with us.

The climate that we have in Victoria does not normally warrant air conditioning. All suites have ceiling fans and windows can be opened. Many of our guests find that the rooms cool down considerably once the windows are opened.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: 500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening Spring 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oswego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.