We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third great stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Oswego Hotel to your Saves list
The Oswego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our third great stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the Oswego. We really enjoy the convenient location, ease of parking, and amenities (all suites with great kitchens) in this hotel, as we like being able to eat a some meals in our room. It's quiet, comfortable, clean and modern.
This visit we had several family members staying for a family celebration and dinner for 16 in the O'Bistro. The location, amenities and rooms were perfect for our needs. Reservations staff were very helpful; check-in and out was fast and efficient, and all staff friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped, although we did have to ask a few times for coffee and dishwasher soap. Vanessa did a wonderful job of arranging our dinner on the Sat. night. We were very happy with the menu, food, and table setting, and really appreciated the quiet atmosphere. Our one complaint was the speed of table service. The server herself was excellent; however, with just one server for our group of 16, we had very long waits between courses and some people received their meals several minutes before others, so their food was cold before they ate. I think a second server would have made a big difference. We love the hotel, though, and likely will be back.

Room Tip: There are many different room floor plans, so you might want to check out different ones if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent review about your stay with us this past weekend. We also recognize that there are many choices of hotels in Victoria and we appreciate that you chose our hotel to stay at.

I have discussed your points mentioned about your dinner for 16 people in our bistro with both Vanessa our Sales and Events Manager, Emi our Bistro Supervisor and Jeff our Executive Chef. I did want to emphasize that we did have more than one server attending to your table. Sometimes when there are larger groups and due to the small size our kitchen - delays occur. We apologize if any of the food appeared cold. Our Supervisor informed me that there were some inconsistences with service whilst the server was waiting for people to finish and delays with that also.

We will continue to work with the team to ensure our service standards are maintained at all times no matter how large the group is.

Vanessa will be back in touch and an adjustment to the bill has been made.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    214
    51
    15
    15
See reviews for
180
428
40
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Two friends and I stayed two nights in a one bedroom suite here. Room was nice but lacking in appropriate amenities: Kleenex, extra toilet paper, towels, dish cloths, etc. Room was clean and had a great view of city. Carpeting needs cleaning and housekeeping probably needs to have a brush up course on how to leave a room. Because we were in suite and there were three of us, we used fold out couch for sleeping -- maid left it as bed so we had nowhere to sit and visit without taking bed stuff off and re folding couch. Internet is spotty and slow. Staff aloof but friendly.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise of cars and seagulls, might want to ask to be away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review

All of our suites come fully stocked and amenities are replenished daily.

You mentioned in your review about items being missed and not available. My apologies if this occurred. I have spoken to our Executive Housekeeper and she verified that service was completed as normal and items replenished for the suite you stayed in.

We will continue to work with our Housekeeping team to ensure stayover service standards are maintained at all times.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our ten day stay at this hotel. The staff was courteous, patient and knowledgeable. The amenities of the kitchen in the suite were excellent, everything we needed to prepare a meal, coffee or tea was there. The location was perfect for sightseeing and we were able to walk everywhere. The restaurant was a surprise bonus, it was attractive, the staff attentive, and the food very good. We recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Victoria.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Oswego and we really appreciate your positive comments about your stay with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed the location and service at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here as part of a package with Clipper Vacations and were very pleased. It is a few blocks from the harbor, easily walkable with a rolling bag. Many reviews from hotels on the harbor complain of the noise of sea planes etc. This hotel is very quiet and feels like a neighborhood, yet you can walk to anywhere in Victoria downtown. The room is nicely appointed and has a small kitchenette, that we didn't really use, but seem to be well stocked for simple meals. The bathroom is spacious with the shower a bit on the small side for a large man. We were on the 5th floor and there is not too much view as there would be on higher floors. The bed and pillow were both quite comfortable. We did not use the exercise room. Our breakfast one morning was average, I would tend to eat elsewhere. But, we would definitely stay here again for nice, clean room, great location and good wifi too.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review.

Overall we are pleased you enjoyed the hotel and amenities.

Our suites range in size based on the location in the hotel and the higher floor suites do have views.

I apologize if your meal and service in the Bistro was just average. We will continue to work with the team to ensure its always better than average

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Oswego again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here two nights as part of a two week holiday in Canada. Very convenient location and spacious room and bathroom. Well equipped kitchenette but local grocery store was a little way away. Underground car parking but quite cramped and expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for including the Oswego in your cross Canada vacation.

Overall we are pleased you enjoyed our location and amenities. Our parking garage is spacious with many spots available for our hotel guests.

We hope that you continue to have a wonderful vacation and if your travels bring you back to Victoria that the Oswego hotel will be your place to stay at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel advises as an all-suite property. I didn't pay full attention to that detail and was surprised by a spacious accommodations.
We had a bedroom, sitting room and kitchen and a bathroom with separate shower and bathtub.
I especially liked the slate type flooring in the kitchen and bathroom. The other furnishing are fresh and well maintained.
The bedding is comfortable
The front desk personnel are cheerful and well informed. This is a high point of staying here.
We also tried the restaurant. It was just okay, I think that there are better places nearby
And speaking of nearby this place is only a couple of blocks from the ferry terminal an easy walking distance even with rolling luggage.
Also it's close to the Empress and downtown Victoria.
The street is not busy and even with the windows open sleeping is comfortable

Room Tip: The parking garage has a locking enclosure if you are driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
When our guests enjoy our hotel and its amenities - this makes us happy!

Thank you for your overview on amenities and service at the hotel. The hotel was built very much with the West coast feel, wood and slate is found throughout the hotel.

If your travels bring you back to Victoria we very much hope to welcome you back to stay with us again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had an excellent stay ar the hotel. Staff was very attentive. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Beds were above average. Nice deck to enjoy morning coffee. Great breakfast area with reasonable prices. Close to downtown and wharf. Just a block and half from boat. Underground parking. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Like many of our guests we are glad that you found out suites spacious and also our great location close to downtown.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: 500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening Spring 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oswego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.