We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a very convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Oswego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Victoria
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a very convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was too good to only spend one night, but that is all the time we had. The accommodation was huge and modern, with large lounge/kitchen, excellent bathroom, and very comfortable bedroom with a large bed. Unfortunately, we arrived at 5pm one day and had to leave by 7am the next, so it was all a bit wasted on us, except of course for the great night's sleep. We even missed breakfast as it didn't start until 7am! The meal was really good in the hotel restaurant but I don't like to sit on stools/high chairs when formal eating out, and that is all that is on offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back to stay with us again and for a longer time period perhaps next time.

In your review you mentioned that our O Bistro had only high top tables and stools to sit at. Our Bistro does have a section that has low regular height tables also. As a hotel guest you also receive 20% discount.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    198
    45
    14
    14
See reviews for
167
384
36
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is great! The staff are terrific, professional, helpful, friendly, and the room was a 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen, balcony and fabulous bath and shower room. All so comfortable and welcoming. The bar/restaurant/lobby area is terrific and the breakfast great.
They found the pills we left behind and sent them to us, which we really appreciated.
All in all we would go back to Victoria again just to stay in this hotel, which is so convenient for the Vic-Seattle ferry: only 1 1/2 blocks away, and close to interesting restaurants, Fisherman's Wharf. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the 1 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Wow - thank you. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

Come back and visit us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My suite was tastefully appointed and comfortably roomy. An entrance and hallway lead to a comfortable studio suite with a fully equipped kitchenette complete with dishwasher. Tasteful blown glass displays and fruit bowls adorn the entry and seating areas. As for those prior comments about the summer heat, my suite had an air conditioner installed with a window vent. The location is next to the Parliament buildings, about 10 min. away from the BC Museum and the Visitor Centre. Bathroom, with both shower and tub, was spacious and sparkling. Oswego Hotel definitely merits a return visit, even while some of the visitor attractions in Victoria do not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great central location near to the harbour. We stayed in a Studio on the fourth floor facing onto Oswego Street. Clean and modern décor, with good facilities. Helpful staff at reception and in the bar. Quite quiet despite it's central location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego as your place to stay at whilst visiting Victoria.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I just had my book review party at the Oswego Hotel in their O'Bistro restaurant and lounge and later in The Kingston Suite. I have to say that everything exceeded my expectations. The planning of the event with their event coordinator went very smoothly and everything I asked for was accommodated. On the day the staff were very professional and helpful in every way. Everyone at the launch, some who had never been to the hotel before, said how impressed they were. The buffet was beautifully presented and delicious. Definitely the best venue in Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel for your special event. We recognize that there are many choices of venues in Victoria and we are so glad that the launch went well and was seamless due in part to the staff's attention to detail.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oswego in the very near future.

In the meantime continued success with your new book and your kind comments I will pass onto the Oswego team

Thank you!

Suzanne Gatrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Oswego Hotel is nicely decorated in a modern style, with a spacious, contemporary bar and restaurant. The room was large and well appointed with kitchen area and lovely bathroom. Nice finishings and touches throughout. We loved how close it was to walk to the waterfront and many of the main attractions of Victoria. Only issue was the bed, we had a room with a murphy bed and it felt a bit like a sofabed, not too comfortable and a bit rickety. Recommend the hotel replace the murphy beds. It's still a great place to stay, just avoid rooms with those beds.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities. From your review you stated that you stayed in one of our Studio suites. The murphy bed product is in a small portion of this suite type. We are currently in the process of removal of the murphy beds and are replacing each studio suite with a new queen size bed for better comfort. This will be completed by the end of October 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego when you find your travels bring you back to Victoria.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in a spacious one-bedroom suite at the Oswego, which included a fully equipped kitchenette with granite counters, living room, separate bedroom, and full bath with tub and separate shower. The decor was modern and tasteful, in muted tones, and everything seemed clean. The bed was comfortable. The only slightly odd thing was that we had to go through the living room/kitchen area to get to the bathroom. Not a huge problem for a couple--just took some getting used to. The location is very convenient (two blocks from ferry terminal and within easy walking distance of the main tourist area by the harbor) yet quiet. We got a great deal on the room, so we couldn't complain about the lack of a great view from the small balcony.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a harbor view (on an upper floor) you will have to pay a bit more. We were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel.

We hope that you come back and stay with us in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: 500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening Spring 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oswego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.