We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably my favourite hotel so far !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Oswego Hotel to your Saves list
The Oswego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Probably my favourite hotel so far !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Oswego for four nights. The suite was spacious and well equipped, and had a comfortable bed and great shower. We made minimum use of kitchen area, but it was good to have the option. There is ample room to relax either in the lounge area or on the balcony.
We had breakfast in the restaurant each day, served by great staff, who were cheerful and chatty.
The hotel is in a really good location, near places of interest but off the main drag.
I would definitely recommend the Osewgo to others as a superb place to stay while in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Wow - thank you so much for such a positive review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and the O Bistro. I will definitely pass on your comments to the team.

Our location is loved by many of our guests like yourselves that enjoy being on the quieter side of the inner harbor but a close walk to everything.

Come back and visit us again very soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    209
    46
    14
    15
See reviews for
174
411
38
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was surprisingly large with a lounge and kitchenette attached. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the harbour and city. The staff were quite happy for us to leave the car in their underground parking while we wandered around the city, even though we had already checked out. Overall it was a very easy and pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Whilst you are staying with us your overall experience is the most important thing. I am glad that you enjoyed not only our great location but also the amenities and staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oswego hotel in the very near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We love this hotel, except for the lack of air conditioning. It's been very hot in Victoria for the last few days and the room has felt like a sauna. In addition, the water from the tap tastes a bit weird, so some free bottles of water would be much appreciated, as opposed the $5 bottle in the fridge.

Other than that, the food is quite good in the restaurant and the service there is very good.

The bed is comfortable and the room is spacious. It's very close to the Clipper terminal without being on the main road. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 605 and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Try leaving your balcony door open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We appreciate your recent review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In Victoria there are very few hotels with air conditioning. We have had a warm summer this year and this is not the norm therefore, causing some of our suites to be warmer than usual. Most of our guests find that the ocean breeze cools things down and the fact that the windows can open along with fans in all the suites, helps with this cooling.

We hope that you choose the Oswego hotel again on your next visit to Victoria.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the nicest hotel we've ever stayed! The hotel staff are friendly, helpful, and professional. The hotel s well maintained and ver clean. Very nice decor in the common areas as well as the rooms. Nice bar/ restaurant. The hotel is very detail oriented and they didn't miss anything (apples and lemon ice water in the lobby). We had booked a studio which was spacious with a well stocked kitchen for longer stays. Excellent location (5 minute walk tithe ferry, 8 minutes to the Empress Hotel). This is a DOG FRIENDLY hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We strive to give all of our guests a special and unique experience whilst staying with us. Our attention to detail is important on achieving this.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego hotel in the not to distant future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we stayed only one night with our two children and had the luck to be upgraded to a two-bedroom-suite. the staff was most helpful and friendly, beautiful big room, well equipped kitchen and
overwhelming views of the surroundings - plus a newspaper delivered to our room in the morning - definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: if you chose one of the upper rooms you have a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent positive review. We really appreciate you choosing the Oswego Hotel as your hotel of choice in Victoria.

Please come back and visit us again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We booked a studio suite for 2 nights here. The room was great, much bigger than expected and the murphy bed was perfectly comfortable for both of us. The staff was super friendly and helpful, remembering our name and greeting us any time we came by. The kitchen in suite looked to have everything you would need to cook just about anything (we didn't cook on this trip). We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony and reading both in the morning and the evening. The hotel had been notified that it was our anniversary and left chocolate truffles and a nice card in our room on check-in. They held our luggage for us both on arrival day and departure day. We have stayed various places in Victoria, however this is our new favorite and we will be back!

Room Tip: More views the higher up you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review - we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Congratulations on your anniversary! Thank you for choosing the Oswego hotel to celebrate this special occasion. Our team work hard to provide a wonderful guest experience and the 'small details' are important to provide our guests not just with a wonderful guest experience but an exceptional guest experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We locked in a nice queen/king bed room for about $120. It's a very nice and modern place that's about one block from where the ferry arrives if you're coming from Port Angeles. It's an easy 10-minute walk from downtown Victoria... maybe a little less. They have underground parking, free apples and a nice-looking restaurant and bar (though we didn't dine there). Staff was friendly. Everything was clean. Our room had a nicely-equipped full kitchen, and a bottle of red and white wine for a fairly reasonable hotel price (I think $16 for smallish bottle).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay including our location and the hotel amenities.

We hope that you come and stay with us in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: 500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening Spring 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oswego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.