We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Oswego Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Seattle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked two nights here as part of a Clipper Vacations trip from Seattle. The hotel is just two blocks from where the Clipper disembarks, and a short walk from the center of Victoria. The neighborhood is astonishingly quiet for being so close to the center. The hotel is not a cookie-cutter place, from the moment you step through the doors. Tiny check-in desk, lovely lounge/restaurant area. Our room was bigger than I expected with a huge kitchen that was surprisingly well stocked. Would be a great place for a week-long stay. There are no rooms in the hotel with two queen beds, but the sofa bed was very comfortable. I do wonder if the room might get super hot on those rare warm days--there didn't seem to be air conditioning, and the room was equipped with three fans. Despite that one hesitation, I look forward to staying here again one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 6th floor looking south--beautiful view and reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your positive stay with us. We really appreciate all of our guests.

Your kind comments I will definitely pass onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    181
    42
    14
    13
See reviews for
148
344
34
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We love the Oswego and this was our second visit. Wonderful location, AMAZING spa bathrooms and large modern suites make this a great hotel. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and professional. We were travelling with our 11 month old son and loved the convenience of the spacious room and kitchen.
However, we cannot fully recommend this hotel for families (the Oswego seems to provide more special amenities for dogs than for babies...). The playpen that was provided was too small and uncomfortable for our baby to sleep in and the hotel bistro does not have a change table in the bathroom (not a huge deal, but inconvenient). The carpet was quite stained and dirty and we didn't really feel great letting our little one crawl around, a downside.
In sum, if you're a childless couple looking for a romantic getaway, you won't find a better hotel in Victoria. If you're a family with babies in tow, there are probably more family friendly options out there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate that you chose the Oswego hotel to stay at whilst visiting Victoria.

You had mentioned in your review that we do not have a change table in our public washrooms. We do have public washrooms on both the 1st and 2nd floors. The change table is located on the 2nd floor.

I have definitely passed on your comments regarding the carpets to our Executive Housekeeper. We clean the carpets throughout the year on an ongoing basis. Even now in our high season carpet cleaning continues as needed. We want out guests to have the best experience whilst staying with us - my apologies that the carpet detracted for your overall experience.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's rare that you have the opportunity to stay in a hotel that really feels connected to it's community, history and culture. The Oswego Hotel is one of those true experiences. I really feel like there was intentionality at every step of my experience. The property itself is well maintained, clean and appropriately decorated. Each and every staff member I encountered was friendly and going out of their way to give me a hand. They were also able to serve in a way that was very authentic and unpretentious. The location is also favorable if you're looking for great places to eat out while staying in Victoria. I'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Wow - thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently.

Each and every staff member works together as a team to provide a great guest experience. It is genuine and authentic! We love our loyal guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back again to stay with us next time you come to Victoria.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Oswego together with ferry tickets. It was directly across the d treet from the Victoria Clipper terminal and a short walk to the Parliament building and the Empress. The room was well appointed and a nice size. There was music playing when we walked in. It felt like home. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone looming for place to stay in Victoria.



  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed our location and your stay with us.

We work closely with the Victoria Clipper and many of their travelers choose to stay with us due to the great location.

Our guest experience is very important and we are glad that you enjoyed the little touches we provide our hotel guests.

Thank you for your positive comments which I will definitely pass onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Only spent one night. Service was prompt and courteous. Only downside on an otherwise great room was the carpeting. It was stained and ratty looking. Apparently, I have not reached my 200 word minimum! The location was nice, easy walking distance to the harbor area.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Oswego and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of our carpets are cleaned regularly! Even now in the busy summer months we have continual carpets being cleaned as required. I have discussed your comments to our Executive Housekeeper for further inspection. I apologize if your carpet was of a sub standard level of cleanliness but you have my assurance that this has now been addressed.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the not to distant future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and our suite could not have been more perfect for our visit. Great fully equipped kitchen with delicious and strong coffee that we could make fresh in the French press provided. Two nice rooms and a comfortable enough sofa bed.

I would definitely recommend this for families visiting the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for posting a review and letting everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our suites are very spacious for families and being close to all the downtown attractions.

Come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked a night as part of the package with ferry fares on BC Ferries site. We felt we got a whopping discount and could not be happier for the stay at Oswego Victoria. The hotel was modernly decorated inside out. There were about 7 or 8 units on our floor and the floor layout of these rooms seemed to help minimizing disturbances from each other. This hotel made us felt like we were in a home away from home. Right after we entered the room, both ceiling fans were turning and the jazz music was filling the rooms. The room temperature was right on the spot. And we were surprised that our one bedroom suite was furnished into a stylish and actually functional living space. Two TV’s were placed in the living room and the bedroom. The bathroom had separate walk-in shower and bathtub. The kitchen and full kitchenware in the cupboards were actually useable and not just for shown that we had seen from other suites. A French coffee press was placed on the granite countertop and a bottle of wine was chilled and sitting in the fridge. Although we did not drink it this time because we were busy sightseeing the city, but we were already talking about to just relax and enjoy the wine along with some snacks and cheese, on the balcony in a summer night if we were coming back Victoria and staying multiple nights at Oswego. And we will recommend that to anyone who stays at Oswego as well.

Some of our observation:
- Located in a relatively tranquil residential neighborhood with some other hotels.
- A short walk at night to the nearby BC Parliaments Building would be charming
- Downtown Victoria is about 1 km away
- Gated parking is available underground

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review and we are so glad you loved your stay at our hotel.

Many of our guests are pleased with the size of the suites and the fully equipped kitchens.

Live jazz every Wednesday night in our Bistro is enjoyed by locals and hotel guests.

We hope that you come back and stay with us again when you find your travels next bring you to Victoria.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Address: 500 Oswego Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#4 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening Spring 2007. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oswego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.