We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet tooth was happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oh Sugar

Oh Sugar
561 Johnson Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3C6, Canada
(778) 440-9192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 34 Shopping in Victoria
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Shelton, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sweet tooth was happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A great hole in the wall to grab a souvenir for the kids. It was fun to see such a variety of candies from around the world. We enjoyed some Polish chocolates with liquer in them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“are you kidding me?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This place is awesome! Old school candy. Different candies from around the world that I've never seen anywhere but here. Their special brand of fudge in little jars is to die for. Plenty of gift ideas in this place. Oh and they carry everyflavor beans and chocolate frogs (from Harry Potter fame)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing selection of sweets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This shop is just fascinating. Packed with sweets it is so fun to check out all the different kinds and see where they are from. The lovely lady at the store told us there are candies from 26 different countries! I also found candies I enjoyed as a kid and haven't see for years. I introduced my 6 yo to Pop Rocks. The look on his face when he first popped them in his mouth was hilarious. Lots of samples were graciously offered including some yummy locally made fudge. We left with a big bag of goodies to munch as we played tourist in our town. We'll definitely return to Oh Sugar especially for special Halloween treats and Christmas stocking stuffers.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely a great place to shop for sweets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Two different people recommended this store to us so of course we had to check it out.
What a great experience, we walked in and were greeted by two of the sweetest girls full of smiles, they immediately offered us samples and told us all about the store.

It is the cutest shop I have seen, packed to the rafters with really unique candys and chocolates.

We bought Polish chocolate, German chocolate and British candies all of which were amazing.
We are in Victoria for a few more days and will return for goodies to come home with us.

It is easy to see why people were sending us to this store, we had a blast chatting with the girls.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oh sugar, oh baby!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

One look at this colorful store and I knew I was doomed...to sugar addiction. I came out of this delightful store with bags of Turkish delight (always wanted to get a close up view of these chocolates after watching Narnia), German Jamaican Rum balls (ya man they're good), and can you believe they even carried Mango Lollipops! LOL! My daughter loved the Stawberry Pocky sticks and not be to outdone, my son chose the Giant sized chocolate Pocky. Wow, this store is going to be my one-stop-shop for all our treats for any occasion....Halloween, Christmas, Birthdays, Valentines, Mother's Day and for those hard to buy for person. Oh Sugar, oh Baby!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh Sugar also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Oh Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oh Sugar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.