We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmiro's Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Belmiro's Restaurant and Lounge
777 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2B5, Canada
250-382-7111
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Victoria's most anticipated new restaurant is now open in the Executive House Hotel.Just steps away from the inner harbor, across the street from the Victoria Conference Center, and close to everything downtown, Belmiro's is sure to be a favorite by locals and visitors alike. With a vibrant menu of fresh local influences, coupled with an extensive selection of wine and beverages, we're certain you'll quickly find a few favorites.Whether you're looking for the perfect dining spot for that special occasion, or simply want to slip into the lounge for a cocktail, we're committed to making your experience a memorable one.
Nanjing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stopped in at this restaurant a few months ago with no preconceived notions about what to expect and was pleasantly surprised. The staff were welcoming, the wine list more than adequate and the few food items that I sampled were all expertly prepared and delicious. Sampled the beef carpaccio, the fiery prawns, a Caesar salad and the mac and cheese. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. Keep up the good work and see you when I'm next in Victoria.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would have been great, but the management sabotaged it for us...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived at 6:00 for our 6:30 reservations and had a martini at the bar, a cozy little area with a fireplace.

Dinner was excellent, and we were enjoying the wonderful classic jazz that was played in the background. All of a sudden the music changed to horrible rap, Euro-pop, and god knows what else. We asked/complained about that, and our server told us that one of the managers was having a staff party and changed to the music to suit them.

Call me crazy, but the staff won't have jobs if they drive customers away. And despite the server knowing that this was terrible and presumably letting the manager know, they neither turned the music down nor changed it. It was only 7:30 in the evening. I completely understand changing music later in the evening, which we were told they usually do at around 9:30-10:00, but to change it during the dinner hour was horrible. It completely ruined dessert for us. Needless to say we will not return to Belmiro's. We had excellent dining experiences at other places in Victoria; there are many fine choices at the same price point so we do not have to endure that kind of evening again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, yet professional; upscale look, but welcoming. Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We took a look at the very elegant dining room before deciding to start off in the lounge with wine and appetizers. The lounge was cozy and intimate, and our server was very prompt and professional. The crab cakes and fiery prawns were excellent. The prawns come with coleslaw beneath, which I usually wouldn't enjoy, but the blue cheese in it was a wonderful touch. Very tasty!

Moving into the dining room, we had the same server attend to us which was great because by then we were building a repor with her and we were happy with her service. I had the seared tuna, which was to-die-for and my husband enjoyed his free-range chicken. Portions were decent; I couldn't make it through the risotto, even though it was quite yummy. We enjoyed a couple more glasses of wine before heading out to explore more of the city.

We will definitely be eating there again when we make another trip from the mainland. The ambiance was very nice and I really liked the contrasting colors in the decor. A lovely place to spend the evening. Management, who greeted us when we came in, stopped by our table as well during the meal to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. He was a really personable man who seemed to be genuinely concerned about giving us a great dining experience. A meal out on the town can get pricey, and we appreciated that we weren't shuffled in and out. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Almost made top marks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Walking thru the door, first impressions of this restaurant are that it is very ordinary and just an addendum to the hotel above, which it is of course. Atmosphere for a restaurant which purports to be something special, is awful. Coul be an upmarket Macdonalds. They need to do something about this as the menu is excellent. Having both ordered the veal, we were apprehensive as we waited with a glass of red wine to be served. We need not have worried as the veal was superbly cooked and very tasty. Service was good. We would eat there again only if they improved the atmosphere. Location is good- within a couple of minutes walk from waterfront.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Elegant but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

As we were staying at the executive house hotel above this restaurant we thought we would try it on the Saturday night. We were surprised that we got a table straight away without booking. They gave friendly and helpful service, there were a number of things on the menu that appealed to us and took time to discuss them with us. The restaurant was both elegant but comfortable. We both agreed it was the best meal we had had since arriving in Canada the week before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmiro's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmiro's Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.