We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engaging staff, great food, awesome environment!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Store at Fisherman's Wharf

The Fish Store at Fisherman's Wharf
12 Erie Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Y4, Canada
+1 250-383-6462
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 966 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
1 review
“Engaging staff, great food, awesome environment!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Pacific Cod is fresh and delicious. Very good tartar sauce. Outstanding Chowder.The staff are engaging. A piece of paradise.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    57
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“soo good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This restaurant is on the wharf and always has a line up. We decided to wait in a long line to see if this was worth it. We stood for 40 min and waited another 10 mins for the food. we ordered everything because I dont know if I would stand in that line for that long again. We has fish tacos, tuna tacos, fish and chips, sea food chowder and salmon poutine. Everything was so good. The fish and chips were perfect. Crisp outside and moist good portions of fish. I was impressed. Thats why the line ups are so long. So worth it. Just wish I had more time to wait in line again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtenay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Best halibut and chips in town.Stay away from barbs,living on there past,a bunch of crap.Great location,you can feed the seals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious gluten free halibut!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We wanted some fries to warm our kids' hands... then discovered that they make gluten free fish and chips! The halibut was fresh and beautiful, delicately battered and perfectly cooked. The fries were fresh and hot and wonderful... none went to the seagulls. We will be back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location but average tasting fish....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The location cannot be beat....right on the water watching the local seals.Beautiful! Great atmosphere and very friendly service. I would have rated higher but the halibut I ate was overdone and very rubbery...not good at all. We also ate a steamed crab which was quite good. I would have rated much higher but with the poorly done fish cannot rate this place higher than average. I also went to Red Fish, Blue Fish and the fish tasted much better. Grade: B

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Store at Fisherman's Wharf also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Fish Store at Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Store at Fisherman's Wharf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.