We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrosia Historic Bed & Breakfast Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambrosia Historic Bed & Breakfast Retreat
Save
You added Ambrosia Historic Bed & Breakfast Retreat to your Saves list
522 Quadra Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3S3, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

What a terrific place. It was excellently located - just a walking distance from the Empress, Parliament Building, and Victoria Museum, it had wonderful food (that marmalade pinwheel was the best thing I think I’ve ever had), and holy cow – the Zen bathroom was huge! It was just as big as my dining room! The owners would put an afternoon baked good at the coffee station each day and chocolates in the rooms in the evening. Just nice touches that made you feel cozy and welcome. I would definitely stay there again if I were in the area and would recommend to my family and friends. No TV, but you can watch TV anytime. Spend that time soaking in a huge luxurious tub.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    22
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
112
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Beautiful looking building within easy walking distance of city centre/harbour. Very comfortable room, wonderful jacuzzi bath! Excellent breakfast. Welcoming hosts. If you want to splash out don't go to a hotel, try this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

Everything was impeccable! Our room was beautiful with a fireplace; the bed and linens are comfortable and posh. The zen bath was heavenly; larger than my bedroom at home with a curved jacuzzi that easily holds two people, a large shower with two shower heads, and every amenity you could want, even heated floor tile. The location is wonderful, on a quiet street but just a short walk to downtown and harbor. Before our arrival, Gae and Gavin helped us with info about ferry connections and Butchart Gardens, and during our stay, great recommendations for restaurants and sight seeing activities.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

The two great things about this B&B is the delicious breadfasts and the location. (Only three blocks to the harbor.) Also host Gavin was very friendly and helpful. Pretty much everything else about the place was a disappointment. We reserved the Ambrosia Suite for $249.00 per night. It had a large bathroom with a spa tub, but nothing was period appropriate. There were modern art pictures and tile. With very little effort the bathroom could have been made to look period appropriate AND luxurious. The bed had a grey chenille bedspread and the headboard was a modern art disaster. The two night stands next to the bed were leather cubes. (Something you might see in a teenage boy's room.) There was no TV in the room. Not that I spend my vacation watching TV, however after a long day I do like to watch a little news and relax before going to sleep. There was a public sitting room. No TV in there either. Just a newspaper which I don't read. The public rooms were mixed with Victorian architecture and modern art pieces. It just didn't work. USUALLY price determines quality. In this case it doesn't.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambrosia2, Owner at Ambrosia Historic Bed & Breakfast Retreat, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Hi Debby51, We couldn't agree with you more...Dawna and I purchased the Inn in Sept 2010 and one of our first projects was to redecorate the Ambrosia Suite. The bed is gone, the walls have been painted, new furniture has been added, luxury Frette linens are being used and a TV (though small) is included in the room. I would encourage you to see our new website and the pictures of the Ambrosia along with the pictures of the common areas. I believe your assessment will change. We appreciate feedback on the Inn and we are always trying to improve the product we are delivering.
If you return to Victoria, please give us another try, or at least stop by for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We arrived a little early but we were able to contact Gavin through an external phone & he was back in 5 mins to check us in. The house is a very elegantly set out Heritage House in an excellent position with a very beautiful garden. It is in a quiet neighbourhood but still just a couple of mins walk from town. Gavin is an excellent host and gave good advice on places to eat and also Eagle Wing Tours for Whale Watching (see our review for that). The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. And the breakfast ... something else! Gae's home-cooked 3 course meal kept us going through the day. It is good fun to meet and eat with the other guests over breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Our stay at Ambrosia was amazing! He arrived a bit before check in, however we were fortunate enough to find our room was ready! We were just going to drop our bags, but so nice to be able to check in. Gavin was an amazing host and showed us around the place so we would feel welcome. There is free wi-fi and a place to park our car (free also). Our room was incredible (Ambrosia Suite)! As Gavin showed us around, he let us know that the floor would be warm in the evening and morning, which was so amazing!

The place is also in a great location. Easy to walk downtown and get anywhere you'd want to go. There is even a great park nearby that you can walk to to see the Olympic Peninsula. Gavin had a map and showed us all the places we wanted to see and even recommended some great spots for dinner.

If the above doesn't convince you to stay there, and it should, but it gets better. Breakfast was OUTSTANDING! The three course meal was homemade and, I'd have to say, better than any breakfast I've ordered in a restaurant. I don't eat red meat or pork and they had asked ahead of time if I have any food restrictions and were able to cater to them. It meant so much!

I would definitely recommend this place to anyway. I can't say enough about how friendly and great Gavin and Gae are, the place is a wonderful place to stay and the food is amazing. You won't regret your decision if you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

The Ambrosia is an elegant place to stay. The hosts are friendly, helpful, but not overpowering. The rooms have a wow factor and the location is so near to anything you may want to do in Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambrosia Historic Bed & Breakfast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Historic Bed & Breakfast Retreat

Address: 522 Quadra Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3S3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fabulous 5 star rated historic retreat in downtown Victoria is close to Victoria's inner harbour, Beacon Hill Park and St. Anne's Academy. King and queen accommodation, jetted tubs for two, rain showers, heated floors, luxurious feather beds and down duvets, and fireplaces. We offer a multiple course, gourmet breakfast, Aveda salon amenities, Frette linens & towels and the finest concierge service. We customize proposals, honeymoons, anniversaries and romantic getaway weekends. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambrosia Historic Bed & Breakfast Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.