We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here or the Fairmont Empress you can't go wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour to your Saves list
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   728 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W3Z5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Nebraska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Stay here or the Fairmont Empress you can't go wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

If you are like me you tend to be on a budget, even with your employer's expense account. The Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour is simply one of the best places to stay in Victoria. The only competitor is the grand Fairmont Empress, which you can't really compare because of its history and location, not quite a block away.

I must say this is one of the best experiences I have had as a frequent traveler. I've been to Victoria a few times, staying at the Delta across the harbour, a now defunct Holiday Inn, and this Marriott property. The Delta is great but you have such a fantastic location at the Marriott there is no way if pricing is close I'd stay at the Delta (and it had been my preferred hotel in Vic).

Greeting by the desk staff was friendly and quick. I appreciated the manner in which I was treated and the excellent room I was provided. The room, as you can tell from the photos, is spacious (larger than the Delta). There is a small balcony with a trick door to access. The fitness center is top knotch-kudos to Marriott for the equipment selection with iPod integration.

The grand dame Fairmont Empress is across the street if you want tea or to view a beautiful older property. It's a bit ostentatious for my tastes not to mention my wallet but you have to at least walk through the place, and view the magnificent architecture and gardens.

Parking costs extra, even for visitors with Marriott status. The garage is underneath the hotel. Park your car, you can walk all over downtown and the inner harbour. There are countless restaurants, pubs, shops and sights to experience.

The Marriott has a special room on the upper floor (14th?) for executive members; it includes breakfast and an afternoon reception.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    289
    54
    17
    9
See reviews for
192
327
47
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We arrived on the morning ferry from Port Angeles, WA. Our first encounter was with Sean, the bellman. His pleasant greeting and helpfulness set the tone for our entire stay. The staff at this hotel is as good as any five star hotel. They really give the impression they care about you personally. Our room was a one bedroom suite with access to the concierge lounge. The concierges were all exceptional, especially Louie and Pamela. For example, when it appeared it would be raining for our whale watching trip Pamela took it upon herself to offer to book us for an alternate cruise at the same time but in an enclosed boat. Such anticipation of the guests needs is exceptional. Another example of the level of service occurred one evening when we needed a special tool to repair a piece of our photographic equipment. The maintenance man arrived, looked at our problem and went out to get the necessary tool. Talk about going the extra mile!
This is our second stay at the hotel and both times the experience has been the same. We plan to return in July for a short stay. We know the experience will be worth it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UATH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

We had planned to stay at a B&B-it turned out to be very disappointing and after many tears opted to leave. We called literally last minute and the Marriott welcomed us. This was on our 25th anniversary. Upon learing this they upgraded us and they sent up a gift basket and card. WOW! Better than we could of hoped for. The staff were very helpful and gracious. Our room had a balcony with a beautiful view of the city and bay. Beautiful marble bathroom-love the lotion they provide. One day was a little rainy and they provided us with umbrellas. They really took great care of us. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast daily in the hotel restaurant. We were just 2 blocks from all shopping and the paralment. Great reastaurants nearby. We would recommend this place in heart beat. If you are going to go to Victoria's Island you should stay here!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfinginflorida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We are platinum Marriott members, and very loyal to the Marriott brand. This hotel had the exceptional service that you would expect from Marriott, and more. The hotel is right behind the Empress; downtown, the ferries, the waterfront – all within easy walking distance. The hotel rooms were top quality, elegant and clean. We were in a corner unit with floor to ceiling windows on two walls. This Marriott sets the standard for all hotels. With weekend room specials for $99-129, it is one of the best vacation deals ever.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed here 2 nights on a quick weekend getaway. It was a modern hotel, located 1 block behind the Empress Hotel, with easy access to the harbor and Goverment Street. The staff was incredibly friendly and very accomodating. We had an infant with us and they made sure to bring up a crib to our bedroom even though we didn't use it. The room we had on the 5th floor wasn't big but it was roomy enough. The floral pattern on the bed sheets seemed a bit dated and the CRT tv, but the rest of the room was modern, including the bathroom which has a full tub. There was no fridge in the room but they will bring one up if you request it. We even found time to use their gym and pool, which was usually empty or not crowded at all. Overall, great stay.

Pros:
Great service
Crib provided
Mini-fridge provided upon request
Free wired internet
Decent gym, pool, jacuzzi

Minor Cons:
Internet connectivity was flaky
Parking was $15 (but has in/out privileges)
CRT tv (expected modern hotels like this to have flat screen

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Why stay anywhere else when you can have a very nice room, a very nice cocktail lounge, and a very nice hotel one block from the center of Victoria's inner harbor. Restaurants, pubs, coffee houses, boutigues, the harbor, the ferries, the regional park, a car rental lot, and stores galore are right at the doorstep. Yet it is a hotel that is relatively new, quiet, well appointed and has a very nice exercise room and swimming pool/spa. Most of all, the staff is very helpful and, as usual, the marriott beds are to die for with soft linens and plush duvets. A very nice place to sleep, eat, exercise, walk and shop with a loved one. Bring some novels, a bottle of wine or two, some chocolate bars, and leave your smartphone and laptop at home.
Steve & Tara Chase
Ventura, CA

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Nice location, friendly service.
Very well maintened rooms with treats everyday.

Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour

Address: 728 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located downtown Victoria, the award winning Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour is walking distance to all there is to see and do in Victoria. Stroll to the famous Inner Harbour for Victoria attractions, musicians and artisans, and whale watching tours. Our Victoria BC hotel guestrooms feature the kind of luxury you would expect from a Four Diamond Marriott Hotel including feather duvets and luxury linens, deluxe robes, free wireless high-speed Internet and individual climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Marriott Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.