We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Block away from Inner Harbour, Convention Center and Empress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour

Save Saved
You added Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   728 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W3Z5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 57 hotels in Victoria
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“1 Block away from Inner Harbour, Convention Center and Empress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This hotel has a great location being just a block away from the "heart" of Victoria's inner harbour, parliament buildings and convention centre. Everything in downtown Victoria is walkable, even going into Chinatown a few times, it took no more than 15 mins and its a nice 15 min stroll through Victoria's downtown. You are near quite a few establishments but also tucked away into a more quiet part of the street that doesn't have a bunch of noisy nightclubs around it.

It seems to be a newly constructed hotel offering the standard 4 star ameneties like a pool, steam room and hot tub. We stayed in room 713 and although our direct view was into another hotel, it was nice having a little balcony outside because you could see over to the Parliament Buildings and the Empress. The beds are all comfortable and the bathrooms are a decent size with attractive tiling around. Its a very clean hotel and we found the front desk service to be quite good. Their staff are all friendly and the concierge takes care of luggage quickly and efficiently.

The one drawback to this hotel is the lack of a taxi line. They don't have a line of taxi's waiting at the front door so every time you need a cab to get some place, you will have to wait for a bit. Relatively minor inconvenience, but nevertheless, its noteworthy because of the transportation network to the airport. This hotel basically has two choices, taxi or a shuttle. Besides having to wait for a taxi, its a taxi, nothing more needs to be said. The shuttle, is a whole different ball game and I sincerely think the Marriott should not associate itself with that company anymore - details below.

WARNING NOTE: the Airport Express Shuttle AKAL Airporter makes this hotel one of its stops. Unless you are leaving for the airport 2 hours early, DO NOT take this shuttle. It is extremely slow and disorganized. We left for the airport an hour an a half before our flight and we spent a good 30 mins circling from hotel to hotel only to find ourselves back where we started 30 mins ago, and we still hadn't left downtown. At that point, lest we miss our flight, we were forced to get out of the shuttle and catch a cab directly to the airport instead - which took about 20 mins. I would not advise the use of this shuttle, cab fare to the airport was $58 and shuttle cost was $20 per person, so for two people, if you feel an hour of your life is worth an $18 savings, by all means do it - for us, we thought it was, but in the end, its really not.

Room Tip: 16 floors to choose from. Unless you are rocking out on the 16th floor, there is not much of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hello biomase,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate our guests’ feedback as it helps us improve and refine our service on a regular basis.

I’m glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location in downtown Victoria. The downtown area is very walkable from our property and that is one of our favorite things about it! The balcony you mentioned is a plus for many of our guests and we thank you for mentioning that.

I am sorry that you had difficulty using AKAL’s Airport Shuttle Service. Our front line staff do everything they can to ensure that our guests get where they need to go efficiently and on time, and I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.

Once again, we all appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

Jayme Smoley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    255
    47
    17
    9
See reviews for
170
289
42
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here last week (June 17-20). Paid more money for upper room with balcony. Balcony located off to the side front of hte room with NO chairs, NO table, nothing there because: A. The winds apparently are too strong and can supposedly blow off furniture - HUH? B. Some drunken kids reportedly threw off furniture. What's the point of having a balcony where you can't sit to outside to enjoy the view? We asked if we could be moved to a larger room or that has a balcony with with furniture. The only thing we were offered was a room on a higher floor with a balcony and NO furniture. What a waste of money and balcony space. Very disappointed there was no other compensation offered. We will NEVER stay there again for the price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Hello candace k,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for what was clearly a disappointing stay.

We take pride in delivering exceptional rooms and service to our guests and we are sorry that you did not experience that.

I have forwarded you contact information if you would like to speak about this further, or about any other aspect of your stay.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your feedback.

Regards,

Jayme Smoley
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel is a relatively new mid-rise. The rooms are comfortable and the views are stunning. The Concierge was very helpful. The hotel is only steps away from the Royal British Columbia Museum, the Empress, Harbor and other downtown attractions. We stayed on a Concierge level. The breakfast, evening appetizers and desert were exceptional.

Room Tip: Bay view - high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, great location. We were upgraded to a room with a balcony, but the balcony is of no use. The decor in the lobby, rest, and washrooms is fab but the bedrooms are hidious. Old fashioned dated rooms. The washroom was classy. Everything was fine in the room. Beds were tiny but very comfy. Parking is at a steep price of 16plus tax per night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location- close to downtown Victoria. Underground parking and clean, quiet rooms. Great beds and Awesome views! Nicely decorated and some rooms have balconies. Rooms are equipped with fridge like coolers and mini fridge/freezer combo are available for small extra cost.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Staff is great and hotel rooms are very comfortable but after recent run in with the hotel manager regarding dirty food and still getting charged for it even though they promised to take it off my room charge, I would not recommend staying here. This is one of many missed opportunities to provide decent service.

The showers are low flow and I have had frequent mistakes on my hotel bill and have had to call in to make sure earned Marriott points have shown up on my bill. This used to be a wonderful hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Sales & Catering at Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear AndreaPeek,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to provide exceptional guest service, and any time we fail to meet this goal it is truly disappointing to our entire team.

We trust we will be able to welcome you back in the very near future.

Regards,
Jayme Smoley, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Overall, our hotel stay was good.
We stayed with our young toddler and the room was more than sufficiently sized to accommodate his portable crib which we brought along with us. All the amenities in the room worked well, and no complaints about the decor (although it could be a bit modernized - it is all new but is a more 'older style' of furnishing.) The location was great and within walking distance to all that Victoria had to offer - restaurants, parks, waterfront area, etc.

I was pleasantly surprised that when we arrived and I asked at the front desk if there was someone who could help us with our luggage from the taxi, the Duty manager (Sam if I recall correctly) quickly offered his services. He was very willing to help, and worked up a bit of a sweat as we did have many pieces and a few of which were pretty heavy. He then proceeded to push the trolley to our room and unpack it there for us. Side note: the bell boy eventually came out of the parking area to help when the Manager was unpacking near the taxi, and rearranged the luggage a bit on the trolley the manager had packed - you could tell who had the experience, though full marks to the Manager for offering and helping out ;-)

We did have room service one night when we needed a quick and easy dinner - My husband and I had Burgers and the lamb, whilst our little one had the chicken on the kids menu. The food was cooked perfectly, and the staff service was very willing to accommodate our requests outside the written menu.

The hotel is located in the street just a block from The Empress on the waterfront of Victoria. It is walking distance to many restaurants in the area, as well as shopping, parks, the Royal BC Museum, the BC Parliament buildings (Which you can visit and watch Parliament in session) etc.

As I say, overall a good stay, and although there is nothing really to fault the staff as they were all helpful and friendly, it does feel more of a 3.5star rather than 4 star deluxe.

Room Tip: We had room 413 which was on the backside of the street - no noise, with a bit of a view towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour

Address: 728 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Business Hotel in Victoria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#16 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located downtown Victoria, the award winning Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour is walking distance to all there is to see and do in Victoria. Stroll to the famous Inner Harbour for Victoria attractions, musicians and artisans, and whale watching tours. Our Victoria BC hotel guestrooms feature the kind of luxury you would expect from a Four Diamond Marriott Hotel including feather duvets and luxury linens, deluxe robes, free wireless high-speed Internet and individual climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Marriott Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.