We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour to your Saves list
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   728 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W3Z5, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Chilliwack, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my daughter for a soccer tournament. It is approximately 30 minutes from the Schwartz bay ferry terminal and very easy to find.

We shared the room with another team member and her mom. The location was awesome. We were able to walk to restaurants and shopping and there were many sights close by.

The rooms were bright and spacious. We found the double beds were small for two people, but they were comfortable and had great bedding. We were surprised to have a small balcony. The view wasn't great since we were only on the forth floor, but there was a lovely garden below and it was nice to be able to store the stinky soccer boots and shin pads outside of the room!
We requested a fridge which was handy to store snacks and drinks in. The wifi service was adequate but seemed a bit slow. I had no problem connecting with my Mac products , but my roommate found it challenging to connect on her phone.

The service was exceptional except for one front staff member at the front desk who was unfriendly and abrupt when we requested a late checkout ( she denied our request) Other than that all of our requests were dealt with promptly and pleasantly.

We found out that breakfast was not included in the rate we paid. It would be beneficial to double check if breakfast is included if you have booked a group rate or a discounted rate. The breakfast buffet was quoted to us as $19 pp.

Parking was convenient but the stalls are tight for a larger vehicle. The hotel was full so parking was at a premium- I ended up having to maneuver into spots that I normally wouldn't attempt to get into. One parent reported that he was offered free valet parking as the lot was full when he arrived.

The gym was bright and had a good variety of equipment. I chose to go for a run so did not end up using it but was impressed with the size and equipment it offered.

This hotel is a good option if you are traveling to Victoria.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    289
    54
    17
    9
See reviews for
193
327
47
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at this property for three days in April. It is very near the Empress Hotel, so walking distance to all of the attractions downtown and the Inner Harbour. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms are clean and well appointed. Great exercise room and adjoining pool, hot tub and steam room. Wonderful buffet breakfast and snacks in the evening were included in the room rate, making for a great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Marriott on Humboldt St means you can walk nearly everywhere in Victoria - sights , shopping , galleries , waterfront , restaurants....you get the picture. The new building means everything is sleek and modern with high quality finishes everywhere , and very comfortable.
Parking in the basement carpark is easy and secure , and is reasonable value despite the $16/day selfparking charge. Booking by Internet means decent prices for a city centre location. Very personable staff , and quick and easy checkin/checkout. The bed was "extremely" comfortable...one of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time. Probably best to get a room on the higher floors (mine was on the 12th) , as you are rewarded with nice views , and separation from the low hum of city traffic - not noisy , just there in the background. Overall opinion is thyat I'd stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Higher floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for a long week-end and really enjoyed it. The hotel is in a great location for walking and sight seeing Victoria's downtown area, museum and inner harbour. Our room was nicely furnished, quiet, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

i could almost give this hotel 4 stars and i could also give it 2 because it's in great condition. everyone working there is pleasant, except for that 16th floor concierge room, the rooms are not too small, a window that opens, nice bathroom, very quiet and very close to everything so we were on the 15th floor, somewhat of a view and given access to the concierge level. WHAT A JOKE. went in day one for some water, they had some munchie type food out and lots of liquor but here's where it gets confusing.... it's an honor's bar i've done this before so i actually know if their liquor isn't free you do buy your drinks. they guy walking around in charge said NO drinks until 5 pm 2 wine bottles were open for that hour and we didn't dare move out of our seats to get a glass until 4:59 -- the wine was $10 a glass, you had to ask for beer, not sure how much that was. they have a great view but it's so quiet people, the few there, were all whispering - it was being in a library. and it was like the 2 people working the area were police. every time you got up to get something to eat they just stared at you like you were going to take the entire slab of cheese to your table it was so uncomfortable that we decided to go down to the nice bar on the ground floor and SURPRISE same wine in that cozy room with a fireplace and people talking in normal voices was $7 ---- i brought it up to the bartender and even she was a little surprised so really you are paying for the somewhat blah appetizers on the 16th floor i've never had to buy my wine at a hyatt in the concierge room but then to have to pay even more than their bar is just plain WRONG so maybe get your drinks in the bar first floor and take them up to the 16th floor? except there is NO AMBIANCE i don't even think music was on and the breakfast so so
it's too bad they have a good location but they need to fix that FREE deal on 16th floor

Room Tip: it's a rather small hotel so you will pay more for the good view rooms if that's what you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

This is our second stay and we are so impressed with every employee we have met. Everyone is extremely helpful and friendly. Nicely decorated rooms, great views, well run concierge lounge...can't ask for much more. Definitely our first choice in Victoria.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while attending a conference at the nearby Victoria Conference Centre. I have absolutely no complaints about this property. From check-in to check-out, the staff was friendly and efficient.
The location is excellent, only steps from the harbour, the conference centre (which is attached to the landmark Fairmont Empress) and the downtown shopping area.
Don't expect the sort of big behemoth Marriott that you'll find in most major cities' downtown core, though. This is a smaller, more intimate property.
I didn't eat at the restaurant, but ordered room service on the last night. The food was excellent and I was disappointed that I hadn't taken advantage of it for any of my other meals.
At the time I was there, the pool was being renovated, but they provided vouchers to use another pool in the area. The exercise room was small, but had several cardio machines equipped with personal TVs (bring your own earphones) and a decent selection of dumbbells.
The room was pretty much standard fare for a Marriott property. I didn't really notice anything out of the ordinary worth commenting on. The room I was in didn't feel new, but it didn't feel uncomfortably old either.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a room in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour

Address: 728 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#18 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located downtown Victoria, the award winning Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour is walking distance to all there is to see and do in Victoria. Stroll to the famous Inner Harbour for Victoria attractions, musicians and artisans, and whale watching tours. Our Victoria BC hotel guestrooms feature the kind of luxury you would expect from a Four Diamond Marriott Hotel including feather duvets and luxury linens, deluxe robes, free wireless high-speed Internet and individual climate control. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Marriott Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.