We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will try out the competition before returning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Vuong

Pho Vuong
622 Fisgard Street, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #661 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Will try out the competition before returning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This Vietnamese restaurant bordering Chinatown is in a convenient location, the service was friendly and efficient, and the items we ordered were all fresh. We enjoyed the flavorful garlic pork salad rolls as appetizers. The regular sized portion of Pho was more than substantial, however I wasn't overly impressed with it. The broth was too bland for my taste. The place could use a little TLC. Our bill (no alcoholic beverages) was $30 for 2 people, so was good value, however, I feel we will need more incentive to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A "forgettable" experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a small vietnamese restaurant, without a special atmosphere. And the food is exactly the same: without a real taste.
So not a bad experience but definitely a "forgettable" one.
There are too many restaurants to try: and this is not a place where I want to come back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Vietnamese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We gave Pho Vuong a try since it opened a year ago. We were pleasantly surprised. The place was clean, though it could use some decor. The food was excellent and the portion were plentiful. Service was courteous and plesant The price was resonable and so..I can recommend you this restaurant. This will be our favorite Vietnamese restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My wife and I (and granddaughter) love this restaurant. The hot & sour soup is a wonderful veggie option (that I always get) while my wife has been happy with every one of the meat dishes she's ordered. The staff is friendly (and the owner a great guy who always comes out of the kitchen to say hello). Try the ginger tofu appetizer - delicious!! Portions are large and prices reasonable

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Vuong also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Pho Vuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Vuong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.