We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Pigeon

The Clay Pigeon
1002 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
250-590-6657
Improve this listing
Ranked #130 of 967 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Victoria
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had high expectations given all the positive buzz but they were far from met. The kale ceasar was interesting but not an over the top wow. They advertise comfort food and their special short ribs fit that bill. Only problem was they didn't offer anything I haven't had at home. While the service started fine we were completely ignored for almost an hour after dessert was served. Somewhere else this might stand out but with so many great restaurants in Victoria this experience was merely average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    33
    8
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I dont miss the previous innocuous sandwich place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nice room, although small fits quite a few diners. If you want a table by the window (people watching on this corner is fun) get there early. Had lunch twice and both were impressive. Excellent menu and very thoughtful local feature dishes. I had a beet salad that was incredible - feta, pumpkin seeds and a sublime dressing. Yum. My table mate had the deviled egg sandwich. which looked and tasted great but the size meant it was a challenge to eat in a civilized manner.
My earlier visit was a rushed meeting and i went to my default which is soup of the day - it was a very good decision - delish and full of flavour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a great dinner here - they have an amazing menu, the meal was fantastic, the food was exceptional and great service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finally someone who really likes making a sandwich.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

It was a very quick lunch with our kids (who were not impressed that we weren't at the spaghetti factory):). The only bad decision we made was to allow out kids to choose the high top table which was too crowded for clumsy children.

Chose the special-octopus poor boy, the porchetta sandwhich and the grilled cheese. The sandwiches were perfect and the choice of bread very nice. Sturdy enough to hold everything in its place but not so sturdy that the contends end up on your lap when you try to bite down. The kale-slaw very flavorful.

Really can tell the chef put a lot of thought into all aspects of these sandwiches. Very much appreciated.

Look forward to returning without the kids.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were with another couple. I ordered mussels which were extremely boring and expensive, something like $1. per mussel. The salad of brocolli and lentils was ok but something I would throw together from leftovers. My husband had the pork with dumpling in what looked like paper paste gravy. It was supposed to come with sauerkraut which was nowhere to be seen. Will not go back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clay Pigeon also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Clay Pigeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Pigeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.