We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for what we paid!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites to your Saves list
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 7 Nights for 6!
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Good stay for what we paid!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed in a Mini Double and didn't realize from the photo on the website just how MINI it was! Although we would definitely splurge on a slightly larger room next time, it was a great stay. The location is as good as you could ask for and the staff were incredibly helpful.

It was always very clean and obviously well taken care of although the building was obviously one of the older ones in the city.

I would absolutely come back and recommend this hostel to any of my family and friends looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    154
    73
    28
    17
See reviews for
18
102
170
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is a great hostel. The staff are very friendly and helpful (I believe they were mostly fellow travelers themselves so they know how fellow backpackers like to be treated). The place itself is very lively with a good vibe and while the building may not be the most modern I thought the funky paint and decorations in the rooms really worked and was fun. We had a private room which was small but adequate. There are plenty of bathrooms with showers so even if the nearest one is occupied you can usually find a vacant one a bit further down the corridor. This place have a small cafe/bar area downstairs and they serve very tasty food for very reasonable prices which is obviously great for those traveling on a budget. The hostel is situated close to some sort of Salvation Army place so there are sometimes scruffy homeless people wandering about on the street. However they never bothered us and the main centre of town is just a short walk away. If visiting Victoria you should definitely stay here. We would definitely go back here as it was easily the best Canadian hostel we stayed in (and we stayed in quite a lot this summer).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Awesome crowd, wonderful attentive staff, creative spaces and excellent breakfast. Even though the rooms are small, they are painted in eye catching color combinations. The hotel is walking distance to the core of the city and we enjoyed our stay and the yummy food from the kitchen staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Friendly staff, but noisy in the room I stayed in. I had earplugs and it was not a big bother. Sociable travelers in the dining area. I will return again when I visit Victoria. Small bathrooms, but kept clean daily and so are the rooms. Sink and fridge inside the rooms which makes it a bonus. Walking distance to many stores downtown and a grocery store. Unfortunately no air conditioner, but overall great experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, bc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I stayed two nights. The first one I was in a female dorm. I thought it would be ok, but it turned out to be really weird sharing a room with 5 other women. I think it would have been fine when I was 18, but as a 30 year old mother of two it probably wasn't the best idea! I had a top bunk and I couldn't help but remember that the last time I did that I was about 6 yrs old :) The bed was really shaky and creaky. Made me feel a bit like an elephant!
I upgraded to a mini private room for the second night and that was a way better fit.
Wireless internet is great, got a very good signal on the third floor.
Food was pretty good and very reasonable.
I was staying there for work; I am commuting from far away and I thought that with the current construction on the highway staying overnight in Victoria would be a good idea.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I stayed at this hostel for 2 nights.... we had a privite room.. it was TINY (would NOT be good for a couple that is backpacking around the world with big bags... since we could barely fit and we only had tiny backpacks)...... it is a super old hostel, but it was clean and had a great atmosphere... the staff was super friendly and you got a great exersise walking up the stairs..... The only problem was that every floor has a door that people have to go through to get to their rooms, and all through the night it was slamming shut..... would have been nice to have one of those slow closing doors so we didnt have to hear that... but otherwise it was good

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I've stayed here every time I've visited Victoria so no local comparisons to give:
BUT I've stayed in many other hostels elsewhere and this place is great.

A private room for you and partner is very affordable and feels safe and nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites

Address: 791 Pandora Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown Victoria, Ocean Island Inn is minutes away from Chinatown, the Inner Harbour, the Empress Hotel and the Royal BC Museum. With easy access to public transit, ferries, and the airport, we're a great home base for exploring the city of Victoria and the rest of Vancouver Island. We have a wide array of rooms to suit your budget and lifestyle, from comfortable 4 or 6 bed dorms to private rooms in all shapes and sizes. Add to that our excellent customer service, clean and secure facilities, and a variety of guest discounts, and you'll see that Ocean Island can't be beat! Ocean Island Amenities: * Free Wi-Fi* 24 hour internet access* 23 shared bathrooms* Rooms with ensuite bathrooms* Fridge in every room* 24 hour Front Desk * Fully equipped shared kitchen* Laundry facilities* Discounts at local businesses including museums, whale watching tours, kayak rentals and more! * Free secure bike and bag storage* Discounted parking* And our very own guide to Victoria so you can enjoy the city like a local.Check us out and you'll see why Ocean Island Inn | Backpackers | Suites is considered one of Victoria's best-kept secrets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.