We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Traveller's Inn Extended Stay

Traveller's Inn Extended Stay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Traveller's Inn Extended Stay to your Saves list
Traveller's Inn Extended Stay
2828 Rock Bay Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4S1, Canada (Burnside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone... unless you are a user. The rooms are dark and dingy... nothing like the pictures (they were clean though.) the staff was good, but I found the manager was rather unpleasant. The property in itself was old and gross. I would never ever stay there again... plus there are no facilities other than internet and laundry. The website is VERY misleading. I was glad to leave.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

First of all it's important to note that this motel is not geared towards the traveller who is in town for a 2-3 night stay. As the name of the property suggests, it's for extended stays, namely 1 week and longer and what is supposed to be a budget price. Presently the property is offering rooms at $700-$900 for the month, which is a bargain by most standards but what you get in return speaks to the old adage of you pay for what you get. At first look, I was sorely disappointed by the poor condition of the outer walkway turf, which is both filthy and torn up as if it's never been replaced since this place was built. The rooms themselves are complemented by beds that are in poor condition and guaranteed to give you a back and neck ache every single morning. The TV's are in poor working condition which is to say they are old and fading in color. The lighting is extremely dark and the lack of decent curtains on the windows forces you more or less to keep them closed at all times unless you wish to have the other guests peering in on your privacy.
And it goes without saying that the guests in this place are the typically rowdy construction workers, hard drinkers and party goers where hearing someone scream profanities at 4 AM is the norm versus the exception. Ditto for the neighborhood this motel is in which is populated by prostitutes and other assorted undesirables that makes walking around the area rather unattractive. Be advised that while the price may be right for Victoria on an extended stay it is not for everyone and unless you're accustomed to the type that patronize this place you will find that by the end of your first week you'll be looking forward to leaving. At least I was.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

This motel is basic and clean. Yes some of the rooms can be a bit gloomy and the area isn't the best but the location is a short walk to downtown Victoria, perfect for exploring.

My family have stayed here several times over the last 5 years and we find it suits our purposes well.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

One suggestion I would make to the management is that the kitchens in the extended stay suites are modernised as they are a bit old, however they are well looked after and clean.

I would definately stay here again as it is good value for money and the location is excellent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated Kitchens and the lighting.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2006

I stayed in this inn in February 2006 and was pleased with the friendly service from most of the staff. The room was a disappointment as it was much older than what was pictured on the Traveller's Inn website. There were only three very dim lights in the room, which made it very gloomy and I had to go purchase brighter light bulbs myself. There is no closet but only a very small area by the door to hang clothes on. The washroom looked newer than the rest of the room; probably renovated before. The beds were comfortable and the maids do a nice job of cleaning. The kitchen area is very small and was also a disappointment. The fridge did not work well as it alternated from freezing all my food then thawing it the next day. The stove did not work, but I didn't use this anyways as it looked so unclean. One of the four stoves were non-functioning as well.

I agree with the opinion that this inn is not in a very good area as prostitutes seem to hang out along this street. The downtown locations are more convenient and are safer. Another thing is while they advertise that they have wireless internet, they actually don't. You have to wait for the computer in their small lobby and sometimes the wait takes forever. The staff sometimes offer to call your room to let you know when the computer is free so you don't have to stand in the lobby and wait.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

My family and I stayed at this Traveller's Inn for 3 days in the last week of July. Our room had no air conditioning, so it was very hot inside our room. We had to open the window and occassionally open the door for air. The inn provided us a fan, but it was not very useful. Because we opened our door, we could smell the smoke from our neighbors who were smoking right outside their room. We had a bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations at Traveller's Inn Extended Stay, responded to this review, December 8, 2005
As a result of your comments we have taken further efforts at our Extended Stay location to deal with the issue of smoking. I can assure you that instances of guests having their health and comfort compromised by second hand smoke will not occur again. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2005

We stayed at this Inn. It has great employees, very friendly and willing to help you out anytime with a smile but it is situated in a neighbourhood that is not family-friendly, especially at night.
There is a park next door for children and animals (on leash) but we found it to be pretty dirty with users of the park during the night but it is cleaned up after a few days.


This Inn also told us there would be 9 movie channels, which was not true, claiming that the sattelite was out and they were waiting for a repairman. Other visitors at this Inn claimed that there has been no movie channels for over 3 months.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Traveller's Inn Extended Stay, responded to this review, July 28, 2005

Thank you for you lovely comments about our staff here at the hotel. At the time of your stay we where in the middle of changing our satellite provider to a much more reliable service for our guest. We now have a reliable full cable package with full movie channels for you to enjoy.



Unfortunately we are unable to control the surrounding areas and business. The staff and management at the Travellers Inn offer full security and 24 hour service to our guests.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Traveller's Inn Extended Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Inn Extended Stay

Address: 2828 Rock Bay Avenue, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4S1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted #1 Hotel Value by Victoria News � 6 years running! Awarded 3-Stars by Tourism BC's Canada Select Program. 9 Free Satellite Movie Channels, Free High-Speed Internet Access in lobby, Free Parking, Free Downtown Shuttle Service and In-Room coffee/tea. This location also features guest laundry. Spacious, modern rooms are equipped with kitchens and are available for weekly or monthly stays. Collect valuable StayMiles.com reward Points with every stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Traveller's Inn Extended Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Victoria
Victoria Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traveller's Inn Extended Stay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.