We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trutch Manor Tourist Suites

Save Saved
You added Trutch Manor Tourist Suites to your Saves list
Trutch Manor Tourist Suites
Trutch Manor Tourist Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trutch Manor Tourist Suites
621 Trutch Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 4C3, Canada (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Mixed opinions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I find it puzzling that so many people give this B & B 5 stars. Yes there are a lot of good things going for it (it is very clean and comfortable for a start), but like a few of the previous reviewers I found that Les's attitude left a lot to be desired. We arrived late (about 8 pm) after a long and tiring journey on Greyhound Bus from Port Hardy and 1 of the first things he wanted was for us to pay the balance for our stay (we had already paid over £250 many months previously for our 5 night stay.) We were also told the 3 'Rules' of the house which I don't believe is necessary; but the weidest of all was that there is a sign in the kitchen asking us to use the toilet paper twice! (no spare roll in the bathroom either!)
One of the main advantages of Trutch Manor is that you have an 'apartment' which means that we had an extremely well-equipped kitchen with dining table. However, there was no tea or coffee - the only place out of 11 that we stayed in during our holiday not to provide this.
We had booked The Den, which is the cheapest of their rooms, and our bathroom was more like a large cupboard and the basin was actually a small kitchen sink unit; it was just adequate.
Marilyn is lovely, and as everyone else has said, the breakfasts are wonderful - infact I had to ask for smaller portions. Being a fairly large B & B it was great chatting to such a wide variety of guests over the time we were there.
Another plus is that it is situated in a lovely quiet neighbourhood - about a 1/2 hour walk to the harbour - but there is a small suburb about 5 mins walk away with restaurants and cafes.
If you can ignore the 'quirks' (and there were more that I haven't mentioned) then this is a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We just returned from a week's stay at Trutch Manor in Victoria, it was great! Trutch Manor is a beautiful Victorian mansion located about 5 blocks from downtown, within walking distance of local shops, restaurants, Beacon Hill Park, Government House and the ocean - no need to rent a car here. Les and Marilyn Tipton are terrific hosts, making us feel right at home with a five star breakfast each morning, and arranging for any excursions, sightseeing tours and restaurant reservations. Trutch Manor is immaculate, warm and friendly. We would highly recommend it to any couple wishing a quiet getaway, but close enough within walking to many of Victoria's sights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I agree with all the other reviews regarding the food (outstanding!), the beauty of the Manor as well as the area, convenience, and value. The reason I would not return is because of the demeaning, rude attitude of the owner, Les. He is someone who needs to get out of the hospitality industry because if you cannot be patient and kind to tourists who happen to be paying high prices to stay in your B&B, you should change your line of work. He snapped at us several times, over MINOR things. Marilyn on the other hand is welcoming and charming. I think he needs to take some customer service or even anger management training as it is very problematic behaviour. Would not return or recommend. Sorry.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We were delighted with Trutch Manor. The rooms were bright and decorated with interesting antiques. Comfortable beds and furniture. The kitchenette was very useful. Marilyn and Les oriented us to the neighborhood and many sites, shopping opportunities and restaurants within walking distance, complete with a map. They are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding, thanks to Marilyn's gourmet touch, and the conversation dynamic thanks to Les's sense of humour. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and stayed an extra night. We will return, and we heartily recommend this bed and breakfast establishment .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Again, ' The Trutch' lived up to our expectations. This was our fourth visit in eight years or so and our recent stay was just as enjoyable as the first. Les, the owner who has consistently been most personable and welcoming remembered us from previous visits. Maralyn's breakfasts are to die for! The selection varies daily with the focus being on fresh items produced locally. We love the location amid all the lovely older heritage style homes with the downtown area being within walking distance ( a good but most pleasant walk) and the the proximity of the quaint Oak Bay village. Am already looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We have stayed at Trutch Manor on more than one occasion and we have enjoyed every visit. Les and Marilyn are great hosts with a wealth of knowledge about Victoria and the surrounding area. Our last stay was for 10 days and Marilyn never served the same breakfast twice. The breakfasts are home made and delicious, you may need to skip lunch because of the generous portions. We have always felt welcome and we appreciate Les' candor and sense of humour. The suites have all the amenities that you would need and the location is great. We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to our next visit.

Manny and Maria.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Great location a 10 minute walk to the Inner Harbour. Our suite was spacious and clean the only problem was we couldn't stay longer. Marilyn produced wonderful breakfasts and Les gave us plenty of ideas on where to go during our stay, make sure you take Les's tour of Victoria views are fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trutch Manor Tourist Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trutch Manor Tourist Suites

Address: 621 Trutch Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 4C3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Trutch Manor Tourist Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trutch Manor Tourist Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.