We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abkhazi Garden

Abkhazi Garden
1964 Fairfield Road, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (Gonzales)
250-598-8096
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 150 things to do in Victoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Created by the Russian Prince and Princess Abkhazi, this lovely garden spans just over an acre and features native Garry oaks, Japanese Maples and splendid rhododendrons.
Victoria B.C. Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We live in Victoria, my sister was visiting, and we wanted to do a high tea without paying Empress Hotel prices. Even though the day was overcast and a bit drizzly, it was really a lovely experience., the high tea was delicious, we could not eat it all and took most of the desserts home. The gardens are gorgeous and a nice walk after tea. Highly recommend it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    58
    15
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I love to wonder through these gardens. They are well maintained and really worth a visit if you like plants. It has a great history and is a great place to walk about with your loved ones.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Have tea at this garden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Small but beautiful garden with a wonderful tea room. We met people there for tea right when they opened and had the whole tea room to ourselves. It was a memorable experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A spring beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited the Abkhazi garden in March and enjoyed the heather in full bloom. The little gift shop is nice with a great selection of books and artsy things and we will stay for tea next time. Hats off to all the volunteers who work in the garden to keep it so lovely! It is wonderful that this property has been preserved as a garden. The modest fee helps to keep the garden alive! An intimate place!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Lovely and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although relatively small, this garden is a great thing to do in Victoria if you like gardens, are looking for a tranquil oasis, or want to avoid the cost, time, or crowds and Buchart's Gardens. The garden is particularly breathtaking in May when the rhododendrons are in bloom. The plants are mature and dense, and focus on perennials rather than the many annuals that are the focus of the showy displays at Buchart's Gardens. If you want to spend a quiet hour not far from downtown Victoria, this is a great place to go. There are a few benches where you can sit quietly, and the food at the teahouse smelled great (the prices were rather high, so I did not try it).

The $12 admission fee is reasonable, considering that the non-profit Land Conservancy, which cares for the garden and several other important BC heritage sites, is really broke and needs the money. Consider it a donation to a good cause. If you are on a super tight budget, however, choose the free gardens in Beacon Hill Park near downtown, or take a bus to the Finnerty Gardens at UVic (also free).

The Abkhazi garden is not accessible to for mobility-impaired people, as there are numerous stairs and several windy, rough, narrow paths. It is small, though, so it is not a vigorous walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abkhazi Garden also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Abkhazi Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abkhazi Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.