We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and simple weird vibe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital City Center Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capital City Center Hotel to your Saves list
Capital City Center Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1961 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K7, Canada (Formerly City Center Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice and simple weird vibe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Rooms were clean and hotel looks like its going through some renos. Was great that the room had a small kitchenette. Staff were ok. Location was good. Price was good for Victoria. Elevator was very, very small.....take the stairs

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
10
20
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had left a very expensive jacket at the hotel and they were able to courier it to me overnight! that is personalized service and speaks to the honest housekeeping team. The rooms and pool is very nice and I would highly recommend this hotel to young adults and families. The price is right!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights and it was nice but definitely had room for some improvements. The front desk staff hardly spoke 2 words to us and when coming and going, they didn't even acknowledge us when we were the only people in the lobby. Aside from that, the room was nice and included a refrigerator which was quite handy. When opening our bedroom window, there was a flat roof. It was obvious that someone (probably their staff) were going out there to smoke as there was trash and it frequently smelled of cigarettes in the hall. The location was convenient and close to downtown but still quiet. Parking was available across the street but was on a slope.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It was close enough to downtown without being too noisy and quite convenient to get around to all the sights of Victoria. The hotel is quite old, but you can see they are doing their best to update the rooms where possible. The rooms do not offer any food items or drinks but you do receive the basics in the bathroom and they were quite clean and comfortable. There are drink machines on most floors. The TV stations are very limited. Some of the staff lacked a little professionalism and could do with some education. Overall it is pretty good value for an average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel last winter.The room was good value for the monthly rate.Over all the room was clean,comfortable and quiet as can be expected under these circumstances.Free parking is appreciated since the hotel is centered downtown and most things are within a short walking distance.The staff are polite and helpfull.Courteous cleaning staff once a week.I would come back again if I'm in town.


Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I had an extended stay in this hotel and found it was a good experience. As a young female living alone I felt secure and the staff saw to any problems I had in a timely fashion. There are security cameras on ever floor as well as the parking lot. My car was perfectly safe in the designated parking lot. Furthermore, the street I find has become much more pleasant after Soprano's Bar closed down.

I found the location to be excellent. It is walking distance from downtown and close to bus routes.

The facilities are good too. The newly renovated rooms are very nice, especially the beds and TVs. The is restaurant in the hotel has excellent food. The staff overall are polite and helpful. The only downsides are that the internet is not best and the walls are quite thin. Overall it was a good experience and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Don't judge this place by the front facade or the lobby decor, they are both just average. Both the staff and the rooms are above average.

The front desk representative, Adrian and the housekeeping staff went above and beyond to anticipate and fulfill our needs.

Rooms were obviously rehabbed fairly recently. Nice furnishings, good TV and very clean.

I didn't expect much walking in and was very pleased with my experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TTGeneralManager, General Manager at Capital City Center Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We here at the Capital City Center Hotel would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. The hotel has been recently upgraded and is now working on the exterior. I personally appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff for they are a great bunch of hard working individuals who always try to anticipate our guests needs and requirements. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Capital City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital City Center Hotel

Address: 1961 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K7, Canada (Formerly City Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital City Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New upgraded hotel walking distance to Save on Foods Memorial Center and Downtown Victoria. Hotel features 84 Guest with Free Wifi, Free Guest Services Computer, Free Parking. Featuring the only Licensed Poolside garden Deck in Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Capital City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital City Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.