We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arbutus Inn

Save Saved
You added Arbutus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central) (Burnside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Victoria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is a clean, comfortable hotel but does not include breakfast in the rate. for the price should be included. recommended for comfortable sleeping. Better than nothing!!! Simple decoration. And good parking. I think is a little expensive.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    33
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
37
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great hotel it was very clean and very quite also,awesome location close to downtown,mayfair shopping mall which is also awesome,very nice helpful staff,would stay here again for sure,good value at this hotel,nice modern rooms,

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was a great plus, always friendly and helpful. We stayed there for 4 nights and the room was quiet and rather clean. However, what kind of bothered me was the hair on my fresh towel (obviously someone elses since they were dark and thick while mine are blonde and thin). Also if you want to walk downtown prepare for at least a half hour walk. (There are buses though 2.50$ per adult). All in all a good place for a short stay if you don't expect too much and look for something pricy.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The other reviews and the pictures led to a very disappointing experience. The hotel is located on Douglas Street in the middle of industrial/parking lots/businesses. The reception area reeked of smoke. The rooms were stale. The windows had a lock, but our window could still be opened. (When we called the attendant regarding the problem he did not offer help. When we asked the attendant to actually lock the window he finally agreed to come to our room, but could not lock it and tried to reassur us that no one could access our room due to the fence around the back of the property. Given the fact that we were on the ground floor and the window could be tilted open we asked to be moved to an upstairs room. The second room we were placed in had the same issue, but being on the upper floor we at least felt more secure.) The room was hot - 82 F and 41 C - but to cool it down meant turning on an extremely loud vent/blower. We could hear the other guests' air conditioner through the wall all night long. We were only provided 2 towels in a room for 4. We had to return to the attendant and request additional linens. The rod in the closet for hanging clothes was poorly made of wood and recently constructed. It was not worth the money to begin with - and then we were asked for a $150 deposit. Upon checking out the following morning we were reassured that we would not be charged the fee, but upon returning home discovered the Arbutus had charged our credit card. A ridiculous hassle to have it removed.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SeattleGin,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. I wish you had contacted me directly during your stay or even after you left so I could have make your stay right and addressed your concerns. You can still do so if you would like. I can be reached by email at manager@arbutusinn.ca or by calling the hotel directly at 250 386 1000.
Without knowing exactly which rooms you were in I can only say that you were assigned a room on our first floor based on your room type reservation.
As for the window not being able to lock in both rooms ……all the windows have a lock on them that slides up and down plus a secondary lock for security so I am not sure why the window could be opened in either rooms as you mention in the review.
Yes air conditioners are sometimes noisy and some more than others. We are in the process of replacing them with quieter ones but with the busy summer it was just difficult to complete the project.
We do a $150 pre-auth security deposit at the time of check in which is released during your check out time. This is detailed on your confirmation. I thank you for your comments and I hope you were still able to enjoy our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Exceptional Service by all staff, a very nice change. Love the Non-Smoking! Rooms were very clean and beds very comfy with above-average linens. It was surprisingly very quiet considering you are next to a major road. Great location, close to Shopping Malls and Downtown. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with two queen beds, it was fine for two people but would be a little cramped wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Theresa W,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor We appreciate you kind words and we will also pass them onto our housekeeping department. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fine place to stay for a stopover. Room bit cramped, but beds comfy.

Staff on front desk were helpful ..

Wifi worked very well. No lift, so carring luggage up and down stairs not easy.

Nearby ABC diner does great breakfast and offers discount to those staying at this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MadJam250,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights, August 15 and 16 2014
Great budget hotel near downtown Victoria. ABC Restaurant next door, bus service on main highway, and a National car rental agency in the lobby. Major shopping mall (Mayfair) within walking distance. Simple no frills room (the one we had) with a king bed. The rooms are comfortable, and clean, with a microwave and a fridge (not stocked) and in room coffee maker. The AC sound level was not noticable at night. Far enough off the highway so we didn't hear any noise (we were on the highway side), but if this is a concern, ask for a room at the back of the Inn. Check-in/out was quick and prompt with three staff people at the front dest when we checked in. Grade level easy access for wheel chair bound persons. Sufficent free parking and free WiFi. I was surprised how easy it was to connect to the WiFi, without all the usual hassle. We stayed here for liesure.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: If slight noise is a problem, ask for a room in the back for more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear World2 Sea,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate you taking the time to let other know about our hotel. Great information for all our future guests. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future. Thank you once again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbutus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.