We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel :) ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arbutus Inn

Save Saved
You added Arbutus Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central) (Burnside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 57 hotels in Victoria
1 review
“A great little hotel :) ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for the night while moving my daughter to college. Recommended by friends and family. Great service and a nice quiet location. Inexpensive cab ride to downtown. Very clean room. Would definitely stay here again :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
34
21
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Found this hotel last minute. On the outside, place looks a little sketchy but as soon as I entered the lobby I saw they had surveillance cameras outside monitoring the parking lot. I knew my car would be safe and secure. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 110 and our room was VERY CLEAN (specially the bathroom) with all the room amenities (tv, lamps, fridges) in good working order. Bed was very comfortable. Location was very close to downtown, about 5 mins drive. We got the room for $110 while other hotels in the area were charging $140plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Whenever I go to Victoria and stay over I always stay at the Arbutus Inn. The staff always go out of their way to make me feel welcome. The rooms are clean and updated. The prices are reasonable. Why would I stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed one night and hotel met my basic needs. Hotel will freeze double the room price with no logical explanation. Corporate Amex should be enough for reception to know I am unlikely to trash the room. Rooms are very old and hotel not the cleanest. Newer beds, flat screens and wifi fast enough for VPN connection. First time, last time!

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I definitely recommend this place! Very accessible, friendly staff and homey feel! Steps away from almost everything. Definitely a 5 STAR!!! You get that welcoming feel the moment you reach the lobby. Flat screen TV's and very comfortable beds give you that unforgettable experience, definitely worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Returned a few days ago from a visit to Victoria and a one night stay at the Arbutus Inn.
The Arbutus Inn is a bit of an odd combination with the motel and a major car rental agency sharing the property and reception area.
The motel is located on Douglas Rd, (a major thoroughfare in and out of the city) and appears to be an older property which is not large approximately 50 rooms. The property is clean as was our room but the room was a little on the small side with two double beds.

The room has the basic amenities including TV, small fridge, and microwave. We had an issue with a non operational cable box on the TV which was eventually sorted out with help from the front desk staff. The room also had a bed side lamp that mysteriously turned on and off on its own???

The motel is about a 10 minute drive to the downtown core and inner harbour.

This is a basic property and is fine for an overnight stay, however if you are going to spend the majority of your time in the downtown core and the inner harbour spend a few extra dollars and find something that’s closer to that area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed there with my fiancee and three year old son and we were definately not dissapointed in our choice of Arbutus Inn. Claudio and his staff went above and beyond what there were , in my eyes, required to do. At 11 at night i asked the front attendant if he could direct me to the nearest good place to get a beer and not only did he have several suggestions but he also gave his opinion based on personal experience as to which one he would choose. All in all a great hotel that i will highly reccomend to anyone thinking of staying in Victoria!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbutus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.