We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Arbutus Inn to your Saves list
Arbutus Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central) (Burnside)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Terrace, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel represents good value for money. The front desk staff is courteous and helpful. They changed our room from double to king on the spot without a fuss. The manager is readily accessible, highly capable, and willing to help out wherever he can. The rooms are reasonably spacious, clean and quiet. The only downside is the unattractive location - mostly car dealerships.

Room Tip: Look out the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about the Arbutus Inn.
We agree with you that we represent good value for you money. Although we are not located within the inner harbor hotel area but we are only a short 5 min drive away on Douglas St. The money saved staying with us can actually amount to be a good amount of savings. We offer free parking and great free in room wifi and the rooms have been renovated .
We do have an onsite National Car & Truck Rental location next to the front desk which is very popular with our guests. Thank you for your kind review and we hopefully look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    38
    29
    8
    3
See reviews for
39
43
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Room has large window, ours also had a king size bed that was very comfortable, and a jacuzzi. Coffee/tea, wi-fi in room is free of charge, huge TV.
Noise from the road can only be minimized by keeping the window closed while running the a/c (a bit noisy).
Reception staff very friendly, helpful and never appeared rushed. Raymond assisted us with finding the right bus routes to restaurants and the university and generally was available for typical tourist questions .
Bus stop is right outside the hotel, very convenient, china town is just a 20 minute walk from the hotel; 25 minute shuttle ride to the airport.
Arbutus Inn provides more service and convenience than one would expect from a 2 star hotel - to be recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Arbutus Inn offers first class amenities in newly renovated non smoking rooms. Wi-fi is available, free of charfge as is vehicular parking. There is front desk service 24 hours daily. Staff are exceptional. They are very helpful, friendly and accomodating. They treat you like family .... Coffee makers, microwaves and the beds are new and oh so comfortable.. Cleanliness is above reproach as the cleaning and maintenance people take great pride in keeping the hotel in top notch condition. For an enjoyable, comfortable, stay, book into the Arbutus Inn., You will enjoy and be glad you did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We needed a place to stay overnight for a concert in Victoria. The hotel was conveniently located within walking distance and an inexpensive cab ride return (after a few drinks). The room was neat, clean and comfortable with a HD TV that actual had HD on it. The staff was friendly and accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. We noticed that lobby, hallways and rooms were recently renovated and completed in good taste. It was comfortable atmosphere and would recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lions Bay, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here on May 4 2013. Newly remodeled, the rooms are nicely decorated and the bedding was wonderful. The staff was very helpful with info on Victoria. Had a very good nights sleep. Thanks John and Sandy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have never had to stay in a hotel for months on end but staying here was almost like I never left home. The staff is amazing, they were able to help me with all my questions and more. The environment is very clean and the cleaners do an excellent job in keeping the hotel clean. My overall stay was great and I would definitely stay there again hands down.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great place to stay, very clean, friendly staff and great location. I have a trip planned to Victoria again in October and will be back for a month. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbutus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.