We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and Cheap! Will be back !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arbutus Inn to your Saves list
Arbutus Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central) (Burnside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Perfect and Cheap! Will be back !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The rooms were very clean and nice, All updated looking as if they just reno'd it inside. Huge Flat Screen, Jacuzzi Tub, Huge Bathroom, Huge King Size Bed, Bedding was comfy and new. AC Worked Great. Staff were pleasnt and helpful. I will stay again, if staying long term I would get a room with a stand up shower as the tub with sprayer isn't something I would want to use everyday.

Room Tip: If staying long term get a room with stand up shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
35
39
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

When we first arrived at the Arbutus Inn we were wondering if we had made a mistake. It is a very dated building form the late 60's to early 70's. The current owners have spent their time remodeling the rooms and not the exterior. The staff was pleasant at check-in and the rooms are very modern. You have a flat screen TV and fridge. The beds are comfortable with a comforter but only two pillows. Our two night stay was very nice and quiet. It is really not in walking distance to the inner harbor but, we had no problems with finding parking. The Arbutus is indeed a bargain for a stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

one reviewer stated there was free breakfast, i asked but they said not included! very steep parking spot but free parking, smaller rooms with a huge tv console which seemed too big for the room, (they should get flat screen to make room appear roomier, towels were old and fraying but smelled clean. noisy old' window style' air conditioner. we had the view of a rental truck parking lot. the staff seemed nice. for the money...you get what you get.

Room Tip: from the main road if you are turning left to get into the street...remember to stay on the left sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Booked this hotel for the low price and central location in Victoria. The interior looks like it was recently rennovation. It was extremely clean. The bedding looked and seemed almost brand new (bed was extremely comfortable). Rooms had the basic ammenities: fridge, microwave, wireless, coffee maker. The front desk staff was very friendly. There are several restaurants located immediately across from the motel and just down the street in multiple directions. If you like walking, the downtown is ony about a 10 minute walk south. There is a bus stop right by the motel as well which came in handy.

My only two complaints are that the ice maker was located outside of the motel and out of the way and the wireless internet was very slow.

Room Tip: Th basement rooms are much cooler in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Claudio and his staff were the best that I've ever encountered, and I have stayed in MANY hotels and motels throughout the U.S. and Canada. Had to deal with a family illness, and they went out of their way to make me feel right at home during that extremely rough time. My family and I will be back, you can count on that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Probably the best stay in Victoria for the price. Recently renovated and super clean, great beds and sheeting. Very friendly staff. And includes a free breakfast at ABC restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of July with our family. The lobby looked great and we were greeted by the front desk clerk in a very friendly manner. Check-In went without a hitch. The room, two double beds, was great -- the room was clean and very comfortable. The features of having a fridge and microwave in the room, free high-speed wireless internet, and cable tv made our stay even more enjoyable.

What stood out to me overall in the room were the linen that were being used -- they looked like they were brandnew!!

Great stay -- I can highly recommend this hotel to any traveller visiting Victoria.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd (main) floor, which was easily accessible from the lobby entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#25 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbutus Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.