We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Parkside Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   810 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa) (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersGold level
Langley
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“For the weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

First time to visit the hotel and I was completely happy with the stay. When I first pulled up I was a little worried about the place as it did not look like a typical top end hotel. BUT once I entered the facility and the staff was one of the best I have been too. Rooms are big, clean and with great views. I would go to this place again every time I travel to Victoria. The location is 1 block from the main area which is great since there is no noise. The pool and hot tub is big.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    185
    67
    35
    25
See reviews for
302
262
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel this past weekend. I booked a room with a king size bed, and they gave us a double. I called downstairs for them to reassure me that it was a king.
If it were king sized bed, it should be able to be bigger than my bed at home...

No air conditioning, or fan in the washroom which was odd.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello from The Parkside Hotel and Spa! Thank you so much for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will investigate this matter further and encourage you to reach out to our Guest Services Manager to allow us to further discuss your stay at the hotel. The Parkside Hotel and Spa prides itself on its environmentally conscious practices, which is why we do not have air conditioning. We do however go to great length to ensure the rooms are cool as possible by providing special glass above the windows to protect the room from the sun’s heat and other environmentally friendly alternatives to air conditioning. We do also have fans available upon request. We do really appreciate you providing us with this valuable feedback and hope we hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Came up to Victoria for one night on our way to Tofino, and was blown away by this place. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was immaculate, the roof top deck was really cool. The staff even helped us move our surfboards into their storage room free of charge for the night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello from The Parkside Hotel & Spa! Thank you for your great review! We are so thrilled you were “blown away” by our hotel. We are so thankful of your acknowledgement of the cleanliness of the rooms and our helpful and friendly staff, as we know all of our teams work so hard! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful resort, lovely suite. Be prepared to show id the minute you walk in the door. A few service glitches that need to be worked out but otherwise I would highly recommend the resort. comfortable

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location is great. There is no air conditioning, so the rooms are very hot and stuffy at night. The quality of the bed was mediocre. Well below what we have come to expect in a good quality hotel. They suggest using blinds to block the sun and opening windows for air, but that is noisy as the blinds rattle in the wind. We would not stay there again...given the options of great hotels in down town Victoria. Avoid this place in summer.



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. The Parkside Hotel and Spa prides itself on its environmentally conscious practices, which is why we do not have air conditioning. Luckily, Victoria has a mild climate, and it is rare that air-conditioning is needed, so we can remain environmentally conscious without causing too much discomfort to our guests. We do still go to great length to ensure the rooms are cool as possible by providing special glass above the windows to protect the room from the sun’s heat and other environmentally friendly alternatives to air conditioning. We do also have fans available upon request. Should you choose to stay with us in the future we can ensure that we can assign you to our quieter tower, as it is off of the main street and experiences less sun exposure due to its placement. We do thank you for your honest feedback and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very impressed!! Staff were wonderful especially front desk and waiter at continental breakfast. Room was amazing....super clean and gorgeous! Excellent amenities...pool! Enjoyed our stay..............


  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello from The Parkside Hotel & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are so happy that you loved your stay. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our front desk and banquets staff. We hope we to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was a great place to stay, with wonderful service, amenities, cleanliness, convenience, and comfort. It was close to many popular attractions, restaurants, and activities. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#11 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa is Victoria's newest all-suite downtown hotel. Convenient located three blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site caffe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkside Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.