We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Parkside Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   810 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa) (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Everything we needed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at the Parkside for a week in the summer of 2012 and had a great experience! The hotel is fairly new, so all the furniture and fixtures in the room were stylish and in great condition. It was a great value for the price paid. The room was very spacious, with our own fully equiped kitchen, separate bedroom area, two bathrooms and huge tub. Also loved the balcony with great views of the harbor. It really felt like a home away from home. I also enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi and fitness center. The location of the hotel was also great - just a 5 minute walk from main attractions. Only negative was the weak wifi signal, but other than that, big thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, Erika. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay -- including the modern decor, large suites, free-standing soaker tubs, and a few of our amenities. We hope to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    185
    67
    35
    25
See reviews for
301
262
27
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked this hotel through Hotwire at the last minute - a bit of a risk - but since I was only staying one night and planned to spend little time at or in the hotel, I figured what the heck. I arrived early (noon-ish) expecting to have them hold my luggage until early evening. I was pleasantly surprised when told they had a room available immediately. Once I entered the room I immediately began to regret that I would only stay one night and spend little time in the hotel. The room was a mini-apartment with an eat-in kitchen, living room with fireplace, French doors to the bedroom with a king size bed and another fireplace. The balcony of my room overlooked a garden area. The plush terrycloth robe was a nice touch and the bed was quite comfortable.

Just a few blocks off the inner harbor (something I might have originally thought was a minor negative turned out to be quite positive when I realized those on the harbor would be getting fog horns all night due to the weather). The atrium was stunning, the staff were efficient, capable and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, we are very happy that you were pleasantly surprised by your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed our full-suite accommodations, our beautiful three-storey atrium, and our excellent guest services staff. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My sister & I stayed her for 2 nights in June & thoroughly enjoyed it.
The rooms are just big enough to be comfortable with great linens, nice deck & view, kitchen & fireplace & washer/dryer too. All very nice & everything was clean & modern. I had a very nice morning hot tub & swim while my sister enjoyed a nice soak in the lux bathtub. The resort is only a couple blocks from all the activity making it easy to just walk anywhere in downtown but is situated on a quiet street so very relaxing. The lobby area is stunning & is worth a visit even if you aren't staying there.

Room Tip: We three enjoyed a one bedroom suite with 2 of us sharing the king-bed & one sister on the sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for writing this review of your stay at The Parkside Hotel & Spa with your sister. It's great that you enjoyed our suites as well as our 25-metre indoor pool and hot tub, while your sister enjoyed our luxurious free-standing soaker tub. We are also glad to read that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location. We would love to have you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

For our first trip to Victoria, my husband and I stayed at The Parkside Hotel. We were impressed upon walking in the hotel! No issues with check in/out. The decor is modern, yet warm at the same time. The hotel boasts an atrium with sky high ceilings, a pond with koi fish and beautiful tropical plants - kind of felt like a rain forest. We were told they accommodate weddings in this area.

We crossed a bridge in the atrium and headed upstairs to our suite. A full kitchen, huge soaker tub/shower, full living room, patio.. It was very homey, clean and comfortable. This hotel also accommodates weekly/monthly stays. It was a perfect "condo" for two.

The hotel has a spa, which unfortunately, I did not visit due to unavailability. They also have a "European Breakfast" from 7-10, which is really just a continental service. We did not eat the breakfast offered at the hotel, because we choose to eat at a cafe (attached to the hotel) which had amazing food and great coffee. It's also licensed!

The only downside to the hotel was no room service! They didn't have a full service kitchen or restaurant. But we didn't care, because we wanted to get out and explore the restaurants Victoria had to offer.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you, Julie, for taking the time to write this review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa after your visit. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our three-storey indoor Atrium, as well as our large condo-style suites. Please come back and stay with us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights August 2013. We really enjoyed the spacious well equipped suite. The kitchen has absolutely everything one would want, including nice china, good sized fridge and a dishwasher. The 2 bathrooms were clean and all the furniture was in good repair. We had a nicely furnished balcony which had 2 doors, one from the living area and another from the bedroom. The hotel is close to downtown, the harbour, museums etc.
make sure you book in the tower directly above Reception, which is MUCH quieter than the other Tower. Do not book a ' View ' suite as these face a very noisy street.
Workout enthusiasts will be pleased with the great fitness area and large indoor pool.
A few drawbacks: there is no restaurant but there is a small cafe off the lobby with very limited menu. Our breakfasts were not good at all, so you'd be better off stocking your fridge and doing some light cooking ( a restaurant is apparently opening in the future ). There are some privacy issues, as many suites face towards each other. We found it very odd that the master bath had no door. Guests staying in the other tower could look directly into our bathroom, so be forewarned. Also the pillows were terrible ( but the mattress was fine ). There is no air conditioning, and the rooms can get quite warm in nice weather. Service was lovely, and our suite was very clean.
Units sleep up to 4 people, and there are some 2 bedroom suites as well.
Overall, a really good and fairly priced option.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the beautiful old St. Ann's Academy..... You'll think you're in Eu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our large suites with fully-equipped kitchens and balconies, as well as our convenient downtown location. It is also great that you took advantage of our fitness centre, and enjoyed the service provided by our Guest Services staff. We hope to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you want to stay at a premiere hotel close to downtown stay at Parkside Victoria Resort and Spa. The atrium is something to see with koi tropical plants and water pathway.
The rooms are clean and huge with full kitchens,living room, and 2 full bathrooms. We could't find fault with anything and for sure we will be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room and wait for the lights of the city to come on!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you, Darlene, for your very kind recommendation of The Parkside Hotel & Spa. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our three-storey indoor atrium with indoor and outdoor koi ponds, as well as our large, fully-equipped modern suites. Thank you, again! We definitely look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Parkside resort twice now, with slightly mixed results but overall the quality of the room beats out any inconvenience.

First stay was in Oct 2012, stayed for an anniversary date with my husband. Front desk clerk was slightly snooty, but not rude or anything. Power went out for over an hour the next morning, for which it would have been nice to have recognition for the inconvenience - I think having the parking charge removed would have been nice, but no offer was made.

Second stay was April 2013 the night before the TC10k race, and my experience was better. Hotel is very close to the starting line for most major Victoria road races, and a significant number of entrants stay at this hotel. Watching the people streaming out of the hotel in spandex (and being one of them!) was very amusing.

Pros: Beautifully appointed, luxury rooms. Top class bedding, full closet, full highboy dresser. Balcony on most rooms! FULL kitchen, full living room with large-screen TV and gas fireplace, couch and armchair. Bedroom can be closed off from the living room. Small dinette table. Amusing view of tower next door - that may be a con for you. :) Excellent location in very safe neighborhood of Victoria. Within walking distance of all major parts of downtown, without being subjected to the noise of the friday night bar scene or the vagrants.

Cons: Parking charge is quite steep at $18/day. Slightly noisy aircon units located just off the central driveway/roundabout. No a/c in the rooms, but Victoria really doesn't get that hot. Staff can be a bit snooty, especially if you present a secondary booking confirmation (hotwire, priceline etc)....

Bottom line: I cancelled another hotel reservation and jumped on a Hotwire booking to get this at only $20 more per night than another local 2.5 star. Whenever I stay overnight in Victoria, I look for the Parkside first, every single time.

Room Tip: Look for reduced rates on Priceline & Hotwire, Parkside sells alot of their rooms this way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParksideHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Parkside Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you, Sue, for taking the time to write this review, and for choosing to stay with us on more than one occasion. We are glad to hear you enjoyed waking up in the morning with all of the other racers staying at our property for the TC10k! It's also great to hear that you enjoyed our luxurious, modern suites with fully-equipped kitchens, dining rooms, and living areas -- all of our suites have balconies, as well. It's also great that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location that is within walking distance to all parts of downtown. We so greatly appreciate your sentiment to choose The Parkside first when staying in Victoria -- we look forward to having you back, on hopefully many more occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria
#7 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#11 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa is Victoria's newest all-suite downtown hotel. Convenient located three blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site caffe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkside Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.