We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice - good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Parkside Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   810 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa) (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Nice - good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Liked this hotel. Hardwood laminate floors - although if you have someone above you with heels on, it can be a bit noisy. Front desk staff very nice, very helpful Good location where you can walk to everything and if you're catching BC Ferries - just just take the first right off the street and go straight and you're there! Parking garage is secure, which is nice.

Be careful if you use the washer/dryer, It's one of those units that does both. We selected 'dry' and the timer to dry off swimsuits we wore that morning and the wash cycle started and once it starts, the door locks and you cannot open it until it goes through a cycle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    151
    58
    32
    21
See reviews for
248
193
22
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I spend two days in Victoria this last week. We stayed at Parkside and were both pleasantly surprised with the hotel. At check in we were upgraded by the front desk as it was my wife's birthday (very nice of them). The room was very nice and really good size for us (two plus baby). It had pretty much all we needed with full kitchen and laundry. The Hotel had a wide array of amenities of which we only sampled the pool which we all enjoyed. The location of the hotel is excellent for all sorts including tourists and those doing business. At a 5 min walk from the Parliament buildings/harbor and right downtown you really can't ask for two much more.

All and all I would defiantly stay at this hotel and would highly recommend anyone looking to spend time in Victoria do the same.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As a former local, I was so impressed with this hotel on a return visit to Victoria. My studio suite was well equipped with a small kitchen (cooktop, microwave, fridge and dishwasher), living area, king bedroom, and spare lounge. I had 3 TVs and two fireplaces along with my outdoor patio overlooking St. Anne's lovely park. I took advantage of the pool which was often quiet in the afternoons and walking to downtown restaurants and nearby attractions was convenient. I booked 6 weeks ahead and stayed three nights, so I took advantage of a great rate through hotels.com. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. It's great for all kinds of travelers and easy to make a 'home base' when visiting Victoria for work or play.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Victoria as a family. It is close to the museum, Beacon Hill Park, and restaurants. The 1 bedroom suite is very comfortable and has all of the amenities for a small family. And,yes, the interior of the suite is a bit run down but it was very clean. The pool was nice and clean, too. I would definately recommend this place to anyone who wants comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Strange that it bills itself as a spa but no bathrobes provided in the rooms. No morning newspapers either. Nice rooms and kitchens and washer-dryer. Easy to negotiate price down by asking them. I got them to match Expedia price and throw in the parking.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I chose this place based on the reviews about the property. I booked this trip with BC Ferries Vacations. The rooms are all suites, I was in the "A" tower on the 5th floor, city view. My suite had a king size bed, full kitchen, two fireplaces. The suite even had heated tile in the bathroom and it's own in-suite washer/dryer! The bed was quite comfortable and the room was clean.

I did have a little trouble with our fireplace. Playing with it, I turned the fireplaces on, but was not able to turn them off. Turned out there was a fault with the remote system and maintenance had to come up to fix them. That was only a 10 minute process, so I congratulate them on their attentiveness. The room and hotel itself is "green/eco-friendly" so the water flow in the bathtub was minimal, though the water pressure for the shower itself was fine.

The property itself is located about a 5 minute walk to the Royal BC Museum/Fairmont Empress/Inner Harbour, and within walking range to most of the other the other downtown hotspots.

The only negative comment I can say is that I personally found the pool water to be a little cold and I found the hot tub to be a little dirty. Otherwise, the staff was friendly and all my needs were attended to. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Victoria and will myself come back here.

Room Tip: City view is nice to have, but it is noisey with the street. They do have park view suites, so it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We got this on Groupon and it's the best deal ever. The location is perfect for walking downtown, to the harbor, the Empress for High Tea, shopping, dining or clubbing. The suites are fully furnished 1BR condos, with all the amenities one could want - huge soaking tub, fireplaces (in BR and LR), full kitchen, balcony, etc. The bed was so comfortable, my husband and i both had a great night's sleep. There is an in-hotel spa with a full menu of services, a small pub/cafe with a small menu of delicious offerings you can order take-out and bring to the room. The rooftop has a nice garden view of Victoria. This would be a splendid location if you paid full price - even better with the deal I got.

Room Tip: The higher floors offer better views, but any of the condo suites would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa is Victoria's newest all-suite downtown hotel. Convenient located three blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site caffe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkside Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.