We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Parkside Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
The Parkside Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   810 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa) (Fairfield)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
GreenLeadersGold level
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I have stayed in many nice and not so nice hotels in both Victoria and across the world. This hotel was top notch and I would rate it top five hotels I have every stayed at. The check in was quick and painless, parking was easy and elevators were near all parking and easy to access. The indoor gardens were the best part about the lobby and it is where I would like to sit down and read a book. It would be an amazing place to set up a wedding as well. We stayed with friends in a Luxury two bedroom suite for under 300 dollars. It was very large and well equipped. Everything was extremely clean and the appliances were new and very nice. The rooms could use an IPOD dock. The beds are very comfy and the pull out beds were even sleep able. The big tub was wonderful and I could have spent all day in it. The TV could have been much much higher quality. The bathrooms, bedrooms, and sitting areas are all very good size and comfortable. The patios were overlooking the courtyard and big enough to drink on or have a nice meal. We never got to swim because of the shorter pool hours however the pool looked nice and clean. While we were staying there we could hear rumbling in the walls every couple hours and thought it was a washer dryer, other then that it was quiet. The hotel could use a big restaurant or a tapas style area. The check out was fast and after mentioning the noise they gave us a discount which was very kind and always appreciated. I can not wait to stay there again and I would suggest it to anyone. If you are looking to shop or be a tourist it is also a very good location. We all LOVED it.

Room Tip: Two bedroom luxury suite on the 5th floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    224
    79
    40
    28
See reviews for
363
327
31
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Camano Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

1. First "Deluxe" suite was very stuffy... No fan or method of ventilation other than tiny windows. Since it was dark, I was unsure about leaving the patio door unlocked since the balcony is exactly at roof level. View from window was of apartment in opposite building.
2. No in room washer/dryer as advertised.
3. Not a sheet of paper of any sort in the room. Not even a little pad of paper to take notes. No booklet with information regarding hotel policies, or features. No newspaper available. They had one desk copy of The Time Colonist.
4. Was upgraded to a "Luxury Suite" next morning. Heating system made loud thumping noise. Solved by shutting breaker off. Repair not made during stay.
5. Broken glass found in bottom of dishwasher.
6. Housekeeping would clean bathroom and THEN make bed with same rubber gloves.
7. Don't believe carpet was vacuumed during 8 days stay.
8. Very poor sound insulation. Noise from hallway and adjacent room.
9. Swimming pool had strong scent permeating even through closed doors.

Room Tip: Ask questions about amenities to ensure they are present.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for five days, and enjoyed having the ability to prepare our own meals when we felt like it. They have added a café since we stayed last time, and the food is quite nice, with a diverse menu for such a small place. We were able to walk to most of our destinations, so the location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 7th floor and enjoyed the view of the lights of the city and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We rented a two bedroom, two bathroom suite & it was great for our annual 'girls Christmas shopping get-away'. The living room has nice seating for 4, a beautiful view, nice fireplace & large TV. Both bedrooms had very comfortable king size beds & smaller TVs. The kitchen was well equiped with dishes & stemware. It's only a few minutes walk to Douglas Street & shopping so a taxi was not necessary.

The Cons - the beautiful ensuite bathroom has a spectacular soaking tub but no shower - but the biggest drawback is that it doesn't have a Door! There is just a wide opening (maybe 5') into the bathroom which may be okay for some couples but for girls sharing, it was not okay. That meant that all 4 of us used the toilet & shower in the small bathroom. The towels were also quite worn & rough. They were not a spa or hotel quality.
#2 - the large TV in the living room was so fuzzy we could not watch it. We called & they sent a nice young man up to fix it but to no avail. In order to compensate us they refunded our parking fees which was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I booked a short trip up to Victoria, BC and we stayed in the Parkside Resort & Spa (thanks to Hotwire "Hot Rates"). We were pleasantly surprised to find that the location of the hotel was fantastic and only a few blocks away from the Ferry Terminal.

When we checked in we were told about all of the amenities of the hotel and it is pretty amazing. A full spa, a pool & hot tub, a theater, a penthouse lounge and a rooftop garden to name a few. They were showing 2 movies per day and most of the movies sounded pretty awesome with a few chances for people to pick what movie was playing also.

Walking into the room was like walking into an brand new upscale downtown Victoria condo. The room had a full kitchen (Washer & Dryer, Dishwasher, Full Refrigerator, Microwave, Stove, Pots & Pans, etc), two flat screen TVs, a balcony with chairs and two fire places. The bedroom was also separated from the living/dining area which is great for families or large groups traveling that want to split a place.

The sleeping experience is hard to describe because I can't really remember anything, I fell asleep and didn't wake up until the next morning. Easily one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in and the quietness of the city only added to the comfort.

I will absolutely recommend this resort to anybody wanting to visit the beautiful city of Victoria.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tioga, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Easy walk to local attractions, central location. Peaceful area, nice balcony, upscale feeling. The owners could do a little cosmetic work in the units - paint, walls, scuffs, etc needed touchup but overall a great place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We are a family of four (kids aged 3 and 7) and stayed here in July 2012 for 3 nights. We booked a deluxe one bed suite and it was perfect. Hotel is modern and the room had an updated clean feel with very nice kitchen and bath. Only slight drawback in the room was that the windows had shades but no curtains and the sunlight would creep in around the edges. Not too much of a problem since the kids had us up early anyway.

Hotel pool was large if a little cool (it used some kind of "green" heating system) but the kids loved it. Nice changing rooms with lockers so no trooping through the lobby in swim gear. Good parking underneath the hotel also.

Location was very central - couple of short blocks to the parliament buildings and harbor and beacon hill park. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Parkside Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parkside Hotel & Spa

Address: 810 Humboldt Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V5B1, Canada (Formerly Parkside Victoria Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Victoria
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Parkside Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parkside Hotel & Spa features some of the largest guest rooms in Victoria. Convenient located two blocks from the world famous Inner Harbour, Tourism Victoria Visitor Centre and the Victoria Conference Centre, The Parkside Hotel & Spa is the ideal choice whether you're traveling on business or pleasure. The Parkside's spacious one and two bedroom suites feature kitchenettes or full kitchens, separate living/dining areas, and bedrooms. All suites have furnished balconies and operable windows. Enjoy LCD TV's in bedrooms and living areas, electric fireplaces to create cozy ambiance and heated limestone tile bathroom floors. Enjoy local flavours, ingredients and produce at Tre Fantastico - the on-site cafe, a local favourite, with seating spilling out onto the Humboldt Valley streetscape. Complimentary wifi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Parkside Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Victoria Resort And Spa
Parkside Victoria Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parkside Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.