We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and Nurturing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marco Polo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Marco Polo Inn to your Saves list
Villa Marco Polo Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1524 Shasta Place, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$35 off Deluxe Room Rate
Ranked #7 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Elegant and Nurturing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

My husband and I have traveled extensively in Europe and Asia. We both agreed that our choice of the Villa Marco Polo and Victoria could not have been more perfect. The peaceful Rockland neighborhood was close enough to the city and the water for easy access but felt far, far away from the somewhat exberant, touristy bustle of the Inner Harbor downtown area.
Our room was as nice as any we have ever experienced. We stayed in the Zanzibar room on the second floor with a magnificent view of the garden with the water and snow covered Olympia mountains in the background. Every detail had been attended to resulting in that rare combination of luxury and home-like comfort. Creating that kind of decor is an art that the proprietors of Villa Marco Polo have perfected in the rooms, the lovely library, the garden and the living room.
Breakfast was elegantly served, beautifully prepared delicious and healthy! What a switch from many B&B breakfasts that overwhelm one with fat and sugar!
This is no ordinary place. I can't wait to go back and have already emailed friends and family suggesting they put this Inn on their list of future vacations.

  • Liked — Beautiful environment, attention to detail, friendliness and knowledge of staff
  • Disliked — Had to leave too soon!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
119
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed there for a weekend getaway and loved it. It was my birthday and they went out of there way to surprise me with balloons and a strawberry daiquiri. Way over the top of what you would expect. Great breakfast and hospitality! Very clean and a very nice place to stay! They even made dinner reservations for us and were very knowledgeable about the area and the best places to eat. It was all and all a great weekend and they were very friendly and went out of their way to help with whatever we needed.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, British Columbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

This is an exceptional country inn situated in the surprising tranquility of Victoria's Rockland area. (Victoria, it goes without saying, is one of Canada's prettiest cities!) No "Victorian" kitsch here. Everything is carefully chosen, yet simple and elegant in design. Modern furnishings blend with the antique and the garden is astonishing. We had the ground floor room, which, like the other three rooms, is really like a suite. The attention to detail is manifest: flowers (hyacinths, daffodils) growing in the bathroom, candles in sconces, scented soaps, a fireplace in our room, sherry and chocolates in the library (where there are lots of books too, even a volume of Horace's carmina for this Latin teacher!) et cetera, et cetera! And in the morning, a delightfully inventive four-course breakfast in the aptly named "Orangerie". Liam, our host, certainly deserves kudos for giving us one of the best non-hotel hotel experiences of our travels--and we have travelled extensively in France and Italy. Stay here and pine later as you reminisce...

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2006

We were expecting a "run of the mill" B & B. Much to our surprise, we were met with tranquility, opulance, and grace. Although not able to spend as much time there as we would have liked, the morning was met with wonderful music, an absolutely divine culinary breakfast,and the longing-ness to stay for another day of pampering. All we can say is "AHHHHH!" and of course....Thank You! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

In Victoria, there are numerous Bed and Breakfast's vying for your attention and I have stayed in quite a few as Victoria, BC is a gem of a city. The Villa Marco Polo rises above all other accommodations in the city and is worth every dollar. It provides a romantic and home away from home in a historical mansion with a spectacular garden. Eliza and Liam are amazing hosts that made me want to plan my next trip to Vancouver Island as soon as I stepped off the BC FERRIES. I highly recommend this property to anyone who wants the perfect accommodation while visiting this amazing city!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2005

I found this B&B during an on-line search. I am amazed that no one has recently written about this wonderful find! It is situated in a quiet neighborhood, within a few blocks of the Government House. (We spent our time in the gardens of the Government House instead of paying $22 per person for Butchart Gardens.) Liam was wonderful. As soon as we were settled, he asked us if we had dinner reservations. Of course we hadn’t yet, and he booked us at Café Brio for dinner that evening. (Food was excellent.) Breakfast here was amazing…four courses. During breakfast, all the guests were gushing about what a wonderful place this was. And the rooms… I can’t give them justice. Check it out online --------. We stayed in the Zanzibar suite, which was on the second floor and overlooked the beautiful gardens, ocean, and mountains. It was filled with beautiful furniture and Italian pottery. The fireplace was also a wonderful touch. There was no television in the bedroom, but if you must watch tv, there is a lovely library that has a comfy sofa and television. But with the french doors and the view from the room, you won’t be watching television long. I only wish we stayed longer. It’s a little pricey, but well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2003

This is the most luury bed and breakfast you will ever stay at. The rooms are unbelievably elegant with antiques, fine linens, and jacuzzi tubs. A bottle of champagne is waiting for you upon your arrival and the gardens (view) are beautiful. Breakfast in the morning is divine (four courses) and a special time to get to know the other guests. Yes, this bed and breakfast is a little pricey, but it is SO worth it! We've been there twice and can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Address: 1524 Shasta Place, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Marco Polo Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marco Polo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.