We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance With Soul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marco Polo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Marco Polo Inn to your Saves list
Villa Marco Polo Inn
1524 Shasta Place, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brookings, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegance With Soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

The food is delicious and a work of art. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are especially comfortable. From the library, to the other common areas and the grounds we found rest in an aesthetically pleasing environment. The Villa Marco Polo is one of the finest Bed and Breakfast establishments we can imagine.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
109
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

We fell in love with the inn on their website, and found the reality even better. The house and grounds are gorgeous, our room was even more beautiful than the photos online.....comfortable, spacious and spotless.
Breakfast was divine. Each morning the guests would happily compare notes on their days activities and dining experiences, most of which were arranged or suggested by Eliza and Liam.
The perfect place to stay in Victoria!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

We have stayed at many B and Bs throughout the world and rank Marco Polo among the very best. To begin, the friendly staff helped us with all restaurant reservations, featuring only local places of high quality and reasonable prices. The inn itself was spectacular. Every detail finished to an impeccable standard. Rooms were large, clean and quiet. The mattress was firm and very comfortable. Common areas were spacious and well appointed. Outside featured a well attended garden. Breakfast could not have been better. Each course prepared and presented to perfection.... an absolute delicacy each time. We traditionally have used Karen Brown as a source for our accomodations. This is one she (missed and) would love.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Villa Marco Polo redefines the bed and breakfast experience. Nestled in a beautiful, garden-like setting, the Inn offers everything the weary traveller could hope for: gourmet breakfasts, palatial rooms and charming, dedicated hosts.
What a wonderful experience!

Karen B.

  • Liked — Spectacular breakfasts and stunning rooms
  • Disliked — A little removed from downtown
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto and the world
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

We had our wedding ceremony and celebration at the Marco Polo.

From top to bottom, it was an excellent experience. Excellent host, decor, and food.

Easy parking, ensuite bathrooms, a den for lounging, fireplace, as well as walking distance to downtown, the water and Oak Bay.

I grew up in Victoria and there are not enough places like this B&B in town that offer elegance with modern style.

  • Liked — Comfortable, stlish, delicious
  • Disliked — we couldn't stay longer because we had a flight to catch
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

We loved Villa Marco Polo. The hospitality was warm, inviting and lovely. The food was out of this world. The inside of the home is luxurious and reminds us of our other favorite place...Italy. The grounds are beautifully maintained and designed. Our room, the Persian, spioled us as we came home to a much smaller and less decorated room!

We give this an outstanding two thumbs up!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

My husband and I have traveled extensively in Europe and Asia. We both agreed that our choice of the Villa Marco Polo and Victoria could not have been more perfect. The peaceful Rockland neighborhood was close enough to the city and the water for easy access but felt far, far away from the somewhat exberant, touristy bustle of the Inner Harbor downtown area.
Our room was as nice as any we have ever experienced. We stayed in the Zanzibar room on the second floor with a magnificent view of the garden with the water and snow covered Olympia mountains in the background. Every detail had been attended to resulting in that rare combination of luxury and home-like comfort. Creating that kind of decor is an art that the proprietors of Villa Marco Polo have perfected in the rooms, the lovely library, the garden and the living room.
Breakfast was elegantly served, beautifully prepared delicious and healthy! What a switch from many B&B breakfasts that overwhelm one with fat and sugar!
This is no ordinary place. I can't wait to go back and have already emailed friends and family suggesting they put this Inn on their list of future vacations.

  • Liked — Beautiful environment, attention to detail, friendliness and knowledge of staff
  • Disliked — Had to leave too soon!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Marco Polo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marco Polo Inn

Address: 1524 Shasta Place, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1X9, Canada (Formerly the Amadeus Mozart House)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leisurely game of bocce, a glass of amarone, a stroll past the reflecting pool of an Italian Renaissance garden, a massage in a romantic penthouse spa. Tuscany or Umbria perhaps? In fact, the exotic Villa Marco Polo, one of Victoria's most sumptuous inns, is located in Victoria's elegant Rockland quarter. This classically designed Victoria Inn, built in 1923 as a gift to a young bride, remains a favourite romantic getaway and wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Marco Polo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marco Polo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.