We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairholme Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairholme Manor to your Saves list
Fairholme Manor
638 Rockland Place, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R2, Canada (Rockland)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Fabulous and Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I and my wife spend couple nights in Fairholme Manor and It was the right place that I was looking for it long time. Nice hospitality, great breakfast and amazing room are things that you should experience in this beautiful manor. It is a cozy place that I would definitely recommend you to stay there at least for couple nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have been visiting Victoria from the US for years. For the past 12 years we have stayed at the Fairholme and it has been consistently fabulous. Sylvia is the quintessential innkeeper. She pays attention to everything. Breakfasts are pure gourmet. It takes a special effort to maintain this level of quality over the years. If you want the very best, try this.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Silvia and Ross welcomed us into their home as treasured guests! The location is a little out from downtown Victoria, but well worth it. We felt pampered in the Penthose Suite which was really an entire one bedroom apartment with a complete kitchen. The views from our balcony were stunning and the location pastural complete with deer that roam the property. The breakfasts were delicious (especially the hommade scones) and Silvia used only the freshest ingredients like locally smoked salmon. Really made our time on the Island special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We are from South Florida and first time visitors to Victoria. Looked up inns and found Fairholme Manor. Loved our apartment style with full kitchen and an large bedroom.

They run a terrific inn and go out of their way to make you feel at home. I would definitely recomend you staying. The area is lovely and morning walks are terrific, next to the governors estate that you can walk the grounds there also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My mother and I stayed at Fairholme Manor the first week of October and absolutely loved it! The home is almost 130 years old and is beautifully maintained. Our room was the Rose Garden Suite. It was a gorgeous 1000 sq ft 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen and sitting area. It had the beautiful high ceiling of an older home and a huge bay window that was so nice to sit in front of with the warm morning sun shining in. We had a wonderful wood-burning fireplace that was all set up for our use if we so desired. We also had a private balcony that overlooked the ocean and the mountains of Olympia and would have been wonderful to sit out on if our weather had cooperated. Next time!
Ross and Sylvia are the owners and made us feel welcome from the first time we stepped in the front door. Ross carried our luggage up the winding staircase and showed us all around our room and the breakfast room. Sylvia's breakfasts absolutely lived up to their reputation! My mother and I both bought her cookbooks and can hardly wait to try to duplicate her delicious recipes.
The location of Fairholme Manor is great. It actually backs onto the property of the Government House so is easy to visit the beautiful public gardens. Rockland Place is a small street that looks more like a driveway than a street when you first make the turn off Rockland Avenue. Don't feel like you've made a wrong turn. You need to drive in a ways before the house comes into view.
While we were there, a photo shoot was happening at Fairholme Manor for one of Victoria's local magazines. It was fun to watch all the excitement surrounding it. We were never made to feel we couldn't be around while it was taking place. We were actually welcomed in to watch.
I would highly recommend Fairholme Manor. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife, Sue, and I spent a week here and we both agreed that this was the ultimate climax of our unbelievable holiday in British Columbia.
The accomodation in the Penthouse suite was luxurious, the views from the balcony breathtaking...loved the deer that visited us!
The breakfasts were different every day, everyone of the highest quality and all home cooked by the lovely Sylvia!
Ross and Sylvia treated all of their guests like old friends, Sue and I will be back in a couple of years to renew our friendship.

Room Tip: If you want a view, the top floor rooms are to die for but if you just want real home comfort, any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I traveled to Victoria on our honeymoon and had an amazing stay at the Fairholme Manor. The house is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are very large and well equipped. We stayed in the Rose Garden Suite which had two bedrooms, a huge bathroom and even a small fully equipped kitchen. Although the accommodations were excellent, the most memorable part of our stay definitely was Sylvia’s breakfasts, they are 5 star restaurant quality and the by far the best breakfasts we have had period. Sylvia was also kind enough to provide us with a copy of her cookbook when she heard we were on our honeymoon, thanks Sylvia!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairholme Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholme Manor

Address: 638 Rockland Place, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 3R2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Rockland
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairholme Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairholme Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.