We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as in SE Asia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lao Vientiane

Lao Vientiane
701-771 Vernon Ave., Victoria, British Columbia V8T 12V, Canada (Downtown)
(250) 475-3522
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #347 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: New restaurant (open only two weeks) Thai and Laotian Cuisine.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“As good as in SE Asia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Went for dinner with partner. Ordered Shu Shee -basa with red and green peppers, coconut milk, and fresh lime leaves in red curry and Kua Gai Med Mamuang – Stir-fried chicken with pineapple, red and green pepper, broccoli,cauliflower and cashew nuts. Shared a large coconut sweet rice - delicious. Would go there again anytime. Very nice environment, friendly, clean.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“fab food - overall experience could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Driven past this place tons of times but finally stopped in for an impromptu bite to eat.

We had to wait over 5 mins to be seated and then another 10 mins for our drinks. It appeared that they were unexpectedly busy and I assume theres only one chef, one server and the husband does everything else. Regardless we were happy to see there were quite a few other diners. The poor server was rushed off her in feet and tables were left uncleared the whole time we were there.

This place needs a lick of paint and maybe some tablecloths to hide the dated furniture, definitely just a go to place when you just want a bite to eat in casual clothes!

Regardless of that, the food was authentic and superb whilst being very reasonably priced, we would definitely return. I think it would be a good place to stop in for lunch as the prices looked excellent.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, bc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service & food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We almost didn't go because of the negative reviews of the service, but decided to go and be prepared to wait because we really felt like Lao food. The service was great! Our waiter (Kyle) was efficient and personable-he gave good recommendations, brought everything in a timely fashion, and seemed to be keeping all the other tables happy as well (including two big family tables of about 10 each). The food was great. Would go back any time. It's not fancy, but it's a good unpretentious restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Hands down the best Lao/Thai food in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I used to live five minutes from this restaurant when it first opened. I've been eating there ever since. I have been to Thailand and Laos, and while this is definitely more fusion than authentic, it is flavoured and cooked true to southeast Asian standards. The ingredients are fresh and high quality. The service was mediocre, I usually get delivery, anyways. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worse Service Ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here for dinner off and on since this restaurant opened. The service has always been slow and confusing but food has been excellent. Tonight there was only one waitress working for the entire restaurant. My dish lacked flavor and I noticed most of the tables were dirty. A table of 3 got fed up with waiting to be served that they got up and left. I noticed that the husband of the owner actually served whereas previous times he just stood behind the bar and did nothing. My husband ordered rice after he received his dish but it took so long for the rice to come that he finished his dish and we ended up canceling the rice. We did not receive our iced tea and iced coffee until we finished eating. We will probably never return to this place. What a shame if this restaurant closes as it is Jess's dream. I hope they read these reviews and make improvements with the service then we may possibly reconsider coming back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lao Vientiane also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Lao Vientiane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lao Vientiane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.