We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a good Indian place in Victoria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrikko's Indian Cuisine

Amrikko's Indian Cuisine
298 Island Highway, Victoria, British Columbia V9B1G5, Canada
(250) 744-3330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #408 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: No website
Vancouver Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finally a good Indian place in Victoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Better then any other place downtown, not counting Cafe Ceylon, which is an upper end place. This is great inexpensive place with good size menu. All that you may want is there, tandoor, flat breads, butter chicken, various curry dishes, great, thumbs way up for Amrikko's

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A waste of money for bad tasting food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband I went to Amrikko's in View Royal, Victoria last week.
All I can say is: Save your money & don't eat there!

We ordered the VEGGIE SAMOSA to start, nothing wrong with the taste, but we have had exactly the same ones in Calgary so they are obviously not made in house.
For the main my husband ordered BEEF KORMA and I odered ALOOGOBI.
To our surpise (and disappointment) it was the same sauce on both the dishes!

I always get the ALOOGOBI when ordering Indian food & I have never had one tasting so different & so bad! The meat in the BEEF KORMA was fatty and sma eaweful sauce!
Could not even finish the meal & I can tell you we did not want to bring any left overs with us home!

Save your money & do not visit Amrikko's!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fabulous meal and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My wife and I went here for dinner tonight and were really impressed.
We were greeted as soon as we entered and shown to a booth.
The waiter was very helpful as this was our first visit there.The wine was very reasonably priced and a good English beer on tap.
The meal was delightful. The Lamb curry was delicious as was the Bombay Shrimp.
Mixed vegetables were a delight to eat as was the Nann bread.
Plain rice was just right.
Service and food were first class. Will definetly return

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food on Vancouver Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

This is a sister restaurant to Amrikko's in Nanaimo; the Nanaimo location used to be the best on Vancouver Island but it is now 2nd to Amrikko's in View Royal (Victoria). Main courses are atound $11 to $15; sides such as Naanbread are $3 or so. Amrikko's is licenced and has Indian beer on offer.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amrikko's Indian Cuisine also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Amrikko's Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrikko's Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.