We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Pricy for an average hotel with no breakfast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Victoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2852 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada (Burnside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Too Pricy for an average hotel with no breakfast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had to book this the same day we needed it and the hotel was quite booked from what I could tell. So we ended up having to take a Junior Suite we didn't want or need. $170 for the night. I was okay with that especially if there is breakfast included BUT there wasn't!! I know it was my fault for not checking but this is the first hotel I've run into of this genre that hasn't come with a complimentary breakfast and I use hotels about 40-45 nights per year. The under ground parking was nice as was the secure elevator and liquor store next door. Room was clean, beds were reasonably comfortable, and hotel staff are friendly. Like I said only complaint was the price and lack of a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    41
    13
    8
See reviews for
24
29
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend in a suite and although most of our experience was average, we did have one disgusting discovery in the bed! Late the first night, after a long day of driving and hockey games, we pulled out the hide-a-bed for our young hockey player to sleep on and on it, we found a large, gross bone! It appeared to have been cooked and maybe picked clean by someone or something...it was hard to tell but it was 7 or 8 inches in length and quite the shocking discovery! It took a bit to get the bedding changed and we were told it would be reported to a manager but didnt hear anything from any staff, even when asked, as apparently there was no manager around this weekend.
So disgusting!! And no resolve or apology of any sort from management. So lame! The reaction from the staff that we spoke to about this seemed as though it was nothing new or out of the ordinary. Would not ever recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
I greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I can assure you we take all feedback seriously and act upon any incidents promptly.

I am terribly sorry for your experience that you encountered and was quite shocked myself to hear of this incident. It is quite interesting that this was found on the bottom of the pullout bed as if something was inside the pull out bed it would have fallen on the floor when pulling the sofa bed out. It is a very strange occurrence for sure as our housekeeping department take great pride in their work.

All of our rooms are checked prior to arrival of guests including pulling out sofa beds and checking in and behind them.

We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and am sorry for this experience.

If you would like to discuss this further in person with me please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kindest Regards,

Brian Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Room was clean. Staff were okay. We booked really early for our vacation and our family of five (3 kids under 10) were put into a room right over the club. Not sure how they figured that was going to go over well. None of us slept. It happened to be an MMA fight night broadcast so we were kept awake by all the hoopla and the other two nights we had the pleasure of listening to motor bikers revving until the wee hours. No discounts were offered and our rooms couldn't be switched because the hotel was full. We won't ever stay again. As well, just for safety concerns, there was no house phone in the pool and no emergency exit. Accidents can happen . . .

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for rooms away from the club. Unless, of course, you enjoy not sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I do apologize for the experience in which you encountered regarding the noise.

We take great measures to ensure that minimum noise comes from the Shark Club. We in fact have noise measuring devices that measure the decibels that are used on such event nights. They are checked every half an hour to ensure that they do not effect out on house guests. It is a very extremely rare occurrence that we receive any such complaints due to the fact that we do ensure this is controlled.

In regards to the feedback about not having an emergency exit in the pool area, we do in fact have three major emergency exits in the pool area. As well, we have a courtesy/emergency phone just in the hallway outside of the pool. We take all precautions we can to ensure the utmost safety of all of our hotel guests.

We value the feedback and do hope that we will be bale to welcome you back in the near future. If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kindest Regards,

Brian Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here in the last two years. As before the staff have been very helpful and pleasant. The kitchen facilities in this room would have enabled us to be self-sufficient had we desired. The beds were comfortable and the room quiet.

Room Tip: Choose one on the back of the building if possible as they are away from the main traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will be share your comments with my team. We do value each and every one of our guests and our team ensures each and every guest has a memorable and relaxing stay with us.

Our kitchen suites are very popular amongst our guests as they allow the flexibility to prepare your own meals if you wish. Great for long term stays!

Again thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Regards,

Brian Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed two nights last week and was very happy with the service and the hotel in general. The front desk staff person was very well organized, efficient, and friendly. The room was clean and in good repair. I found the bed a little bit hard but that is likely just my personal preference and wouldn't stop me from staying there again. The pool was fine and the breakfast menu was ample. Parents travelling with children should be aware that the onsite restaurant is a bar and grill, so no kids allowed. However, there are many family oriented restaurants within easy walking distance. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kegs605
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we were at a diffrent property and came to this one, we liked the room so much we stayed an extra night. The sheets and room was a huge improvement ffrom the night before. I was very pleased the hotel was clean and the rooms were great. On the bus route, just hop on the bus go downtown enjoy your evening and take a taxi back..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed with 3people. The room is big enough for three and there was small kitchen and
microwave. I walked to city center and took about 20 minute walk. If you are with small children and have no car, it is difficult to reach inner harbour by foot.
The staff are very freindly and helped us to order shuttle bus to the airport,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Victoria

Address: 2852 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Hotel Victoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful capital city of British Columbia, Victoria is one of BC's most popular tourist destinations. Filled with amazing history, architecture, and a vibrant arts scene, Sandman Hotel Victoria is ideal for long restful vacation stays and short business trips. Whatever your reason for taking a trip to the sensational city of Victoria, Sandman Hotel Victoria will make sure your stay is absolutely flawless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.