We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Sandman Hotel Victoria
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2852 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada (Burnside)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Grande Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at the Sandman while a family member was in a Victoria hospital as they offered an excellent medical rate. We had a suite with my wife & I using the bed and another family member using the pull out couch in the sitting area. Room was clean but was showing its age a bit (tap leaked). Only real issue was that housekeeping kept forgetting that there was 3 of us in the room and never left enough towels. Leaving a note solved this. Front desk staff where very friendly and helpful (we never knew when we would be leaving so they let us update them day by day).

Room Tip: The suites are nice. There is a sitting room with a TV and then a small kitchen area and then the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
24
28
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was traveling by myself with my 5 children and all the little details made all the difference to a successful stay....part of which means a relaxed mom. From the availability of the family suite, to the very friendly reservation and front desk staff, to the quick service of getting the extra pillow we needed, to Anita, the housekeeping manager, providing personal service to ensure our room was to our satisfaction and leaving behind a care package of cookies and chips - even some baby cookies because she knew I had a baby, to the manager being flexible with pool rules and allowing my older children to swim while my baby napped. It was all so convenient, easy, accommodating. What a treat to have free local calls! The conveniences for a busy mom were endless! We appreciate being able to count on this consistent service each time we travel to visit our families in Victoria! Thank you!
My only negative comment is that I would appreciate that you invest in new beds and pillows. They are not comfortable and the sheets are obviously bleached over and over and for our family with sensitive skin eczema this was uncomfortable and we all lacked sleep. Go the extra mile and spend money on improved mattress, pillow and linen quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the Sandman in Victoria for one night. I live further north on Vancouver Island and come to Victoria periodically. I thought I'd try somewhere new (and near to my destination). The hotel seemed quite clean and well kept. Staff was friendly. What disappointed me was how NOISY the hotel was. I returned after dinner to find that the bar was full and very loud (a Friday night). The noise followed me into the hotel and to my 3rd floor room. After settling in, I could still hear noise from the stairs, elevator and surrounding rooms. The headboard on my bed was not attached properly and banged everytime a door opened or closed, or the people upstairs walked. I could clearly hear voices in the next room (well enough to understand their conversation). This continued until 3am and I was woken again at 6am by people coming and going. The bath tub also did not drain properly, and filled up while I showered.

I won't be staying here again. I shouldn't have to move rooms after already unpacking and settling in. This hotel needs to be updated with better sound proofing.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room far away from the elevator and hope that it's quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with me regarding your most recent stay with us. I do apologize that you encountered some noise concerns during your stay with us.

This weekend you are referring too was a sold out weekend for us. We did have a number of teams staying with us and was also an event night at the Shark Club. We do enforce strict policies to our teams that are staying with us. Each team must fill out and sign a team conduct agreement that lists the hotel rules and policies regarding quiet times etc. We also have security that patrols the hallways and property to ensure rules are being adhered too. We did have no noise complaints brought to our attention on this specific weekend. Again we always want to ensure our guests enjoy a quiet and memorable stay.

We have addressed the concern with the headboard and the shower drain and have corrected these issues, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I can assure you that we would welcome the opportunity to have you back to stay with us. I would be more than happy to speak to you directly regarding your past stay. I can be reached at (250) 388-0788

Again thank you for your feedback and I am most certain your next stay will be a pleasurable one.

Kind Regards,

Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diessen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

when we arrived at the hotel,we thought we could easy walk to the centre. Well it's ok during the day but i wouldn't recomend it later in the evening. The hotel is ok, The room was big and clean but next time i think we will get a hotel closer to the nicer part of victoria.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of our centrally located hotel. Most of our guests prefer our location to the inner harbour area as we are centrally located and 20 minutes walk to the inner harbour. The hotel itself is also centrally located to Mayfair Mall, Uptown Mall and many of Victoria's wonderful tourist attractions. It really depends on what you are looking at doing while your in the Victoria area. An added bonus that we offer compared to any inner harbour hotel is FREE parking for all of our guests.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel is a long way from the centre and the walk is along a busy main road with furniture showrooms and car dealerships.

Beware of the pet friendly policy as you may end up with a barking dog in the room next door. We did and had to move rooms - hotel did this readily but nevertheless it was hassle forus.

Rooms were large and clean and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is a real mix of good and bad, and which side wins depends on what's most important to you. My travel plans changed pretty late in the game, and I had to change hotel plans, as most of the Victoria hotels were full. I was staying several days and needed a place with a kitchen, and the Sandman delivered. For $149/night, I got a room with a small-but-serviceable kitchen - small fridge, 2 burner stove, MW & CM, with basic dishes, flatware, and cooking pans in good shape. The room, bed, bath, living room, and temperature control were all comfortable, though a bit old fashioned and worn. The room was quiet, even though it is on a busy street. But... it was only relatively clean (though not horrible), the daily cleaning service left a lot to be desired, there were white deposits on the drapes (everything that I can imagine these stains to be is gross), both TVs were old and the signal reception poor, and the staff very inconsistent - they were friendly until you asked anything of them, then they were rude. They would not let me check in early. My big problem, though, was that the hotel is not in a very good area. It is in an industrial mix, and I was bothered several times by panhandlers in the hotel parking lot. There is a liquor store adjacent to the parking lot, which is nice if you want to make a purchase, but is undoubtedly one reason that they have problems with bums. When out walking, men in cars would pull over and wait for me to pass by; it was quite disconcerting, and later my colleagues said that the hotel is in an area frequented by prostitutes (though this was NOT a problem in the hotel). There was no pleasant place to take an evening walk from the hotel. I didn't try either the bar (which was busy and noisy) or the breakfast. On the plus side, though, the hotel is within a 15-minute walk of The Moon Under Water Brewpub, and another 15 minutes to the main tourist section.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
generalhospitality, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We value the feedback of all of our guests. I am sorry that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We strive on quality and satisfaction for all of our guests.

In regards to your comments regarding our rooms, we are in the process of upgrading our hotel and our rooms. Over the last year we have installed flat screen tv's in half of our hotel rooms, added new carpet to many guest rooms, and are in the process of adding new bedding to all of our suites. We will also be adding new furniture to a selection of our guest rooms. All of these upgrade will help to enhance the guest experience for all of our valued guests.

We have discussed your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and can assure you we pride ourselves on our cleanliness and will ensure that all of these housekeeping concerns are rectified immediately.

I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your early request on check in, however we were a full house the night before and were unable to get you in to your room at your early arrival. We do guarantee the check in time of 4pm. In our peak season we do our best to try to accommodate these requests, however we can't guarantee it.

I have also noted your comments on the area of the hotel. We are located downtown and as in any city we do our best to prevent incidents like this from happening on hotel property. We do have regular security patrols that take place of the interior and exterior areas of the hotel to keep any instances such as what you encountered to a very minimum. Unfortunately as in any city these instances are beyond our control but we will and always do our best to prevent this from occurring on hotel property.

We are also located close to many wonderful parks, one of my favourites is a nice walk along the Gorge.

I always want to ensure that our guests are satisfied and comfortable when staying with us. As this seems to not be the case with your recent stay I would be more than happy to discuss this with you in more detail. I can be reached at the hotel directly and look forward to having the opportunity to further discuss your stay with us.

Again thanks for your feedback and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and do our best to exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Brian Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Super great service. Very accommodating. It was much quieter than I thought it would be considering the location and locale of our room above the Shark Club. Room was very clean, but a bit tired. Bedding and décor were old-style. Some freshening up to the décor would be a huge improvement. Beds were comfy and seemed quite new.
Very pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Victoria

Address: 2852 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Hotel Victoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandman Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Inn Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.