We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paul's Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Paul's Motor Inn to your Saves list
Paul's Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1900 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K8, Canada (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Invermere
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Convenient budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, hotel was in a handy location. Offered good value compared to other hotels. The room was tidy and clean although older style. If you are on a budget and want a simple place for the night it will do the job fine

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    55
    32
    13
    12
See reviews for
22
53
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We travel to Victoria periodically and want a very convenient "bed and bath" to stay. Paul's is an old, clean and reliable motel but no frills or luxury. It is extremely convenient to everything, concerts at the Safeway centre, China town, shopping and, being a motel there is easy access to your room and free parking. The area is very safe. However, if you are in a hurry, NEVER eat in the restaurant. While the breakfast is good the service, on three occasions in a row now, has been horrid. You wait, wait and wait and have to ask for everything. Last time we had a medical appointment, told the waitress of our time frame, and to remind her we needed our breakfast and it came too late we did not have time to finish it. It took 25 minutes before breakfast was serviced. UNACCEPTABLE!! Never eat there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After driving twelve hours to get here our bathroom was dirty, the tub still had water and hair all over it. We told the front desk and they weren't concerned, also we were away from the group we booked with (again nothing could be done). It took two weeks and several phone calls to get an answer which wasn't satisfactory at all!! We checked out the rooms last year and they looked great so we were very disappointed with our stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

this was my second time at paul's, the first was four years ago. my boyfriend and i love paul's! it's affordable, retro (literally), and close to downtown (10-15 minute walk to centre) without being amidst all the tourist trash. we like it as it has some character without being pretentious and snooty like so many hotels in vic. we also enjoyed reading all about paul (yes, there really is a paul).

the diner has good breakfast, with a table or two dedicated to long standing customers, the rooms are serviceable, and the wifi was functional. we rented the courtyard rooms both times as they are a little more quiet and private, and the balcony and ivy-covered wall back there is pretty. there's lots of wood panelling

the only real annoyance i had was with the front desk service. the people were friendly enough, but we had to wait a ridiculously long time to get checked in, and then had difficulty getting batteries for our safe. victoria is on "island time" and it's no different here!

overall though, a decent place if you are like us and dislike posh hotels.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms are quieter and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay at Paul's Motor Inn because we were traveling with our (55 pound) dog. A surprise was that this is quite a nice place!
No, nothing fancy about the rooms but they were clean, had all the standard features (in-room safe, wide screen TV, coffee maker), the beds were comfortable, and the inn us within walking distance to the center if downtown, only a short drive from the ferry.
The huge, beautiful hanging baskets if flowers added some charm.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I travel to Victoria often and this is the first time that all the places I like were sold out. Trip was last minute so I just decided to stay at this motel. It was okay? Bed was not comfortable, AC didn't work well and the curtains didn't block the light out from outside entry lights. This is a very worn out old place, really not that well kept and that is a shame as it could have a funky retro feel and be a really enjoyable place. It wasn't dirty, things worked well enough but I value a good nights sleep and rather spend 20 bucks more to get it. The food and service at the restaurant was again so so. If you're on a super strict travel budget you will be fine here, but if you have a few more dollars to spend, choose another property. I think they could do a better job if they really put in some effort and a few more bucks. Their room rates are not that much less than far nicer places. It is nice to be able to pull right up to your room but that's what makes for a very noisy sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Calif.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked here based on the TripAdvisor ratings. I wanted a place that was inexpensive, but decent, for a two-night break in a long road trip. I was not disappointed. My room was large, quiet, clean, and comfortable, with easy parking next to my door--motel style. It was convenient to downtown, but just outside the traffic congestion of downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paul's Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paul's Motor Inn

Address: 1900 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paul's Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paul's Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paul`s Motor Hotel Victoria
Pauls Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul's Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.