We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuteness Rules!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zed

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zed to your Saves list
Hotel Zed
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada (Burnside)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Waterville, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cuteness Rules!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you can't be perfect, at least be fun. And Hotel Zed was perfectly fun!
All services were friendly and prompt. The room and area in general was both clean and well maintained. AND COLORFUL! The walk-in shower was the best we've had in a long time and..., my own personal standard for rooms, the bathroom mirror did not fog up afterwards.
Their little restaurant served us up a delicious specialty breakfast for a very reasonable price.
The only downside for me was the computer desk which, due to the small room size, made for having to move the kitchy-but-uncomfortable chair so someone could pass by. The desk also had a glass top which added to the overall gleam and glitziness of the room, but of course a laser mouse will not work on clear glass.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
31
26
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Zed. Every detail was perfect and while it was a little further downtown the quality of the hotel, the wonderful restaurant and the shuttle that runs all day makes it a perfect choice. Also, it's so affordable! My partner and I came on a working holiday and lounged in the comfortable lobby and got lots of work done in a perfect environment.

We'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The king room was worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Zed is bright and cheerful. We loved the splashes of color throughout the hotel. The retro theme was fun -- manual typewriters! cruiser bikes! rotary phones! More importantly, the rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. Every encounter with the staff was pleasant. The hotel is the right distance from the busy downtown, and we took advantage of free shuttles to the city center in a brightly colored VW van.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. The morning traffic is noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were super happy to find a place for a Victoria getaway close to downtown that fit our budget and included bikes and a hot tub. The fabulous decor, vinyl listening station, ping pong room, pool, and vinatge VW shuttle bus were icing on the cake. We really wished there had been in-room coffee and maybe a few more hooks to hang things like bathing suits and extra towels, but apart from those minor things, we were very happy. The location, by a busy street is not th quietest, but the beds are super comfy and we still managed to sleep in! This place gets the basics right and packages them with a retro appeal and some quirky extras that make it feel much more of a holiday than staying at a regular budget hotel We love you, Hotel Zed, we'll defintely consider a return visit! Dana, Crystal and Kelvin were all great and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Basic rooms are pretty small, if you want room to do your yoga, go up a size!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Crowgirl

Nice review! We appreciate it so much! Glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We are having a great time making our guests stay enjoyable. Appreciate the comments about the in room coffee and hooks in the rooms. We love to hear how we can be better. And of course we can't do any of this without great staff so thank you for the nice comments about Dana, Crystal and Kelvin.

Hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decore is amazing. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are spotless and we'll equipped. Price was fantastic as well. Pet Friendly was a huge bonus for our fuzzy family. Pool hot tub and water slide were great. Location is perfect with a short drive to DT and a walk across the street to the mall. Would definitely recommend

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Cantstop

Sounds like you guys had a great time at Hotel Zed. We appreciate the great review! We love the fact that we have designated pet friendly rooms and you can bring your pooch with you when you stay. Thanks for taking the time to review us. Hope to see you again.

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this (and found out about Hotel Zed) from the Black Ball ferry packages from Port Angeles. Great rates! Just my husband and I on this trip, but our boys would have loved staying here too. We played ping pong, took the free rental bikes for a ride down to downtown, listened to the Grease soundtrack on records and rode in the funky VW shuttle van. The beds were super comfy and the decor was great. Everything is new.
The hotel (actually a motel) is a few miles from the downtown harbor area, but they have a shuttle that will take you down there. We rode the bikes down there once- a nice ride, mostly flat. When they tell you it's all on the trail and no roads, that isn't exactly true. The last few blocks are on the city streets and you have to cross the bridge in the traffic lanes which might be a bit intimidating to some riders or those with younger kids.
The restaurant on-site is great. Stopped in for happy hour when we arrived and had the poutine and tacos. Very tasty and great prices!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Turbo

Wow, what a review! Thank you so much! Sounds like you got a chance to try most of our amenities which is great. Good point about cycling into town. The trail comes up a few blocks short of downtown. Glad you had a chance to try out the Ruby, our new restaurant of only a few weeks! It makes for a dangerous place to work with all that great food I'll tell you!

Hope to have the chance to welcome you back someday.

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to Victoria for the weekend and we were so happy we found Hotel Zed, great funky place with clean comfy rooms and friendly staff. We enjoyed the hot tub and drinking wine in their newly opened restaurant. We were very grateful for their awesome vw bus as a shuttle but were a little but disappointed with the hours it ran, we wanted to spend the afternoon downtown but we had to get the bus back to the hotel because the shuttle stopped running at 5 on Sunday. Great hotel and I'm sure we will return!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelzed, General Manager at Hotel Zed, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Ali

Thanks for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the Ruby restaurant and that our staff were helpful. We appreciate your comment about the shuttle. We are always looking for ways to improve the Hotel Zed experience. Sunday nights have been quite quiet for people wanting the shuttle but as the summer season approaches its getting busier so we will be expanding the schedule.

Hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon

Chris Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zed

Address: 3110 Douglas Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3K4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#26 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Zed 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a ridiculously fun & eclectic hip hotel in Victoria BC that is so completely awesome your mind will be blown! Ok, slight exaggeration, but we swear it's like nothing you've ever seen before: '67 VW shuttle, typewriter station, vinyl listening station, pool & waterslide, ping pong lounge, high tech media hubs in the rooms and comic books in the bathroom ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Zed reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Ridge Hotel Victoria
Blue Ridge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.